Vista gets sluggish...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Vista gets sluggish...

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    do a whois search on my ip...
    Posts
    268

    Vista gets sluggish...

    Okay, So my vista laptop runs perfect... for a while! I finally got startup/shutdown to work smooth and both will perform in less than a minute...

    When I use the internet (Mozilla Firefox) it works great for about 30 minutes then when I click on a link it will get stuck loading and then nothing on the browser works, vista says its responding but it isn't... Then vista starts running slow! So I have to reboot for the computer to respond correctly!

    any ideas?

  2. #2
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    Did you check how much resource various programs, including your browser, are using? Check for a memory leak in one program or other. Since it seems to happen when you're browser is open, I would look there first.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    Do you have a firewall by chance?

  4. #4
    Senior Member Raion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New York, New York
    Posts
    1,299
    I don't know, either I'm doing something right or everyone is doing something wrong because I hear a lot of complaints about Vista startup and shutdown time and it is definitely longer than XP, for the most part it doesn't take anywhere near 1 minute to start up or shutdown.

    If anybody knows any reg hack or something of the sort to decrease either time, do share
    WARNING: THIS SIGNATURE IS SHAREWARE PLEASE REGISTER THIS SIGNATURE BY SENDING ME MONEY TO SEE THE COMPLETE SIGNATURE!

  5. #5
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    ArPaNET,

    You might look at what FF plug-ins you are running, I believe that they can sometimes cause issues.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  6. #6
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    Yeah that's a good thought. Try running with none for a bit.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    Hi Raion, this is a British Newspaper site. There are 9 articles on tuning Vista.

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/connected...ecrcomparc.xml

    Last edited by nihil; April 21st, 2008 at 06:47 PM.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    do a whois search on my ip...
    Posts
    268
    Hey all, thanks for the responses! It totally slipped my mind that I am using some rather odd plugins, I will disable them (all) and let everyone know.

    @oofki Yeah, I do have a firewall... (av, and all the other goodies too)
    @JPnyc I'll check for memory leaks as well...

    Thanks for all your help guys!

  9. #9
    Senior Member Ouroboros's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Superior, WI USA
    Posts
    628
    Trusted Installer.

    For the members that don't know, Vista runs a background program called TrustedInstaller.exe in the background shortly after boot, and occasionally thereafter. From what I understand, its purpose is to scan your hardware/software for updates on drivers, software updates, etc. It chews up quite a bit of RAM and slows things down considerably, including the reboot/shutdown process (It won't allow windows to shut down unless it's done doing its job). If it's interrupted, it will start over.

    Just shooting from the hip here, but have you looked into that, A? Personally, I let my PC sit for 20 minutes after a bootup just to let that obnoxious program do its thing and let go of my resources. Pain in the ass, but ultimately serves its purpose.

    O
    "entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem"

    "entities should not be multiplied beyond necessity."

    -Occam's Razor


  10. #10
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    That's a point O~,

    TrustedInstaller certainly gave a lot of people problems a few months ago. Rumour was that it was fixed in SP1?

    Also ArPaNET might like to try this:

    Start >
    Control Panel >
    Classic View >
    Problem Reports and Solutions >
    Clear Solution and Problem History >
    (Confirm that you want to clear the history) >
    Close the control panel.

    If you have problem reports in there, TI is likely to go looking for solutions from time to time
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

Similar Threads

  1. Windows Vista gaming, shooting blanks?
    By acidtone in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 14th, 2007, 01:14 PM
  2. Microsoft's new anti-piracy technology...
    By brokencrow in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: October 19th, 2006, 05:44 PM
  3. Cracking Windows Vista Beta 2 Local Passwords (SAM and SYSKEY)
    By Irongeek in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 12th, 2006, 06:17 AM
  4. It's getting closer and closer to upgrade time
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: September 10th, 2006, 11:32 PM
  5. Wait a minute... HOW many versions of Vista?
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: March 1st, 2006, 03:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides