No errors But not working
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: No errors But not working

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    28

    Question No errors But not working

    Hi.

    I have one printer on my network but I cannot print out
    When I printing out some doc's they are sending to the printer but nothing hapens and I do'nt getting any errors.

    All other computers on the network printing out and working fine, but not mine.

    I tried to reinstall drivers for the printer with no luck.

    OS = Windows XP Pro
    AV = no
    FW = no
    Printer = Brother MFC-7820N
    never know

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Maybe it's set to "Print to file" instead of the port?
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    28
    No.

    I tried all ports, for fun.

    And now settings is RAW TCP/IP
    Portname: IP_192.168.2.102
    Port number: 9100
    SNMP: public
    SNMP-index: 1
    never know

  4. #4
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    I think you misunderstood the "port" bit. I wasn't very clear about that..

    Go to the properties of the printer on your machine. Click on the "Ports" tab. Make sure FILE: isn't ticked (that will make it print to file). Tick the correct port.

    NB Do disable SNMP! Or at the very least change the default community string (public) or anybody will be able to reconfigure your printer remotely.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  5. #5
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Sounds very odd that you cant print but others can.

    Latest drivers, otherwise try SD's suggestion, only thing that it can be.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    28
    I have just one port activated för that Brother printer.
    I have also PDFCreator installed and it works perfet.

    :'(
    never know

Similar Threads

  1. Errors, Vulnerabilities & Exploits Explained
    By White Scorpion in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 30th, 2008, 08:10 PM
  2. How Can I Remove Metadata File Errors?
    By Digoy in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 11th, 2006, 02:44 PM
  3. Gentoo Sound not working
    By harbir in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 21st, 2005, 04:37 AM
  4. Network Audit - Tutorial?
    By Cemetric in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: June 20th, 2005, 09:58 AM
  5. What Tutorial are you working on?
    By Negative in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: February 16th, 2003, 01:50 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides