Forgotten Password??

Thread: Forgotten Password??

Unhappy Forgotten Password??

hi its me again.

some how the passwords for the family pc got changed , in fact it was never password protected, as far as i know. but now there is a password on all accounts even the administrator one . and no one seems to remember the passwords. we recently changed firewalls, which i doubt has anything to do with it, from zone alarm to comodo. is it possible that some one can access the computer via internet and change our passwords . i dont know for sure, im new to networking and the such, but either way i need to recover those passwords or change them. any suggestions? thnx for the help

runnin windows xp professional sp2 i do believe

Ophcrack is a free Windows password cracker based on rainbow tables. It is a very efficient implementation of rainbow tables done by the inventors of the method. It comes with a Graphical User Interface and runs on multiple platforms.

http://ophcrack.sourceforge.net/

Cheers:
    DjM

Are you able to log into any of the accounts? Most of those password crackers cannot be ran on a 'guest' or other type of limited account. Have you tried administrator in safemode? I have actually worked on a laptop that would not let me log in as administrator when booted in normal mode, but when I booted to safemode, it let me log in as administrator without a password... weird?? It seems like I had heard about a boot cd that would let you change windows passwords, but I have never seen it in action. If worst comes to worst, you could boot off of a live linux cd [ubuntu, knoppix etc] and at least back up your files for a reformat... though that is usually a dreaded last resort. Best of luck to you!

Westin
    \"Those of us that had been up all night were in no mood for coffee and donuts, we wanted strong drink.\"

-HST

Westin, Ophcrack is a LiveCD you boot from it and let it do its thing. It doesn't require an account to work.