GP editing
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: GP editing

  1. #1
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683

    GP editing

    Hi All

    Server = 2k3
    Workstations = XP PRof and Vista business

    I thought this was working but it isnt. Everyone was receiving updates so I thought my WSUS was rolling nicely. However I didnt approve any for about a week and noticed most XP machines have updates. I was stumped.

    Anyway after some investigation I see there is an option which was not configured "allow recommended updates via automatic updates".

    I assume that setting goes through to m$ and bypasses WSUS which I dont want to happen.


    Now to edit the whole Domains GP do i use on the server

    1. Start > Run gpedit.msc

    or

    2. mmc

    Thanks. Sorry im abit confused.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  2. #2
    Some Assembly Required ShagDevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    718
    Now to edit the whole Domains GP
    You would use Group Policy Management under Administrative Tools.

    You should have a Default Domain Policy

    In that policy you'll need to change some settings under here:
    Computer Configuration -> Administrative Templates -> Windows Components -> Windows Update

    This setting will point all your workstations to your WSUS server (If Enabled):
    Specify Intranet Microsoft update Service Location

    You have to tell your workstations where the WSUS Server is using this syntax:
    http://WSUS-SERVER:8530 (or whatever port you'll be using)
    Last edited by ShagDevil; July 16th, 2008 at 03:18 PM.
    The object of war is not to die for your country but to make the other bastard die for his - George Patton

  3. #3
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Um , please look at the attachment.

    I dont see this.

    You would use Group Policy Management under Administrative Tools.

    You should have a Default Domain Policy
    Last edited by Cider; August 7th, 2008 at 10:49 AM.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  4. #4
    Some Assembly Required ShagDevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    718
    That's because you don't have the GPM snap-in installed

    You can download it here:
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

    Trust me, it's a worthwhile snap-in if you're going to start playing around with Domain Group Policy.
    The object of war is not to die for your country but to make the other bastard die for his - George Patton

  5. #5
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    OK - Just install it and it should pop up in the list ?

    EDIT: Complaining about .net framework, gonna ge that downloaded and isntall
    Last edited by Cider; July 16th, 2008 at 04:03 PM.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  6. #6
    Some Assembly Required ShagDevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    718
    Yeah, you should see a Group Policy Management option under your Administrative Tools once it's installed.
    The object of war is not to die for your country but to make the other bastard die for his - George Patton

  7. #7
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Well I looked in add/remove and saw .net 3 in there ... even though it was complaining .net wasnt isntalled. So i removed it.

    Well now apparently I have killed exchange as it was running of it.

    Now im downloading .net from m$ to reinstall.

    Wonder why it wasnt complaining.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  8. #8
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Hi there SD

    Even after reinstalling / uninstalling I get the same error when trying to installl the GP.

    PLease check attachment.
    Last edited by Cider; August 7th, 2008 at 10:49 AM.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  9. #9
    Some Assembly Required ShagDevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    718
    Sorry for the delayed reply. I was running around like crazy today.

    Well now apparently I have killed exchange as it was running of it
    Well had I known it would be such a pain in the arse, I wouldn't have recommended it. If it's causing that many problems, forget it for now and just use your MMC. I think you can also access Group Policy via (right click) properties of your domain in AD. I've used the GPMC for so long now, I've forgot how I used to access the GP any other way.
    The object of war is not to die for your country but to make the other bastard die for his - George Patton

  10. #10
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Hi there

    Well the exchange is fixed now, had to reinstall .net framework.

    The GPMC is still complaining about not having .net framework installed.

    Can you guide me through setting it up the default way otherwise a wrokaround for it complainging about .net framework.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

Similar Threads

  1. Remote Registry Editing
    By vynkz in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: March 25th, 2005, 01:57 PM
  2. allow editing, no matter how long ago
    By pooh sun tzu in forum Site Feedback/Questions/Suggestions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: July 4th, 2004, 01:21 AM
  3. Hex Editing
    By Haxinme990 in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: November 20th, 2003, 10:02 PM
  4. Help Music editing
    By rolo67 in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 3rd, 2003, 05:11 AM
  5. Registry Editing
    By Pandabean in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: June 8th, 2002, 06:11 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •