hacme bank question...
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: hacme bank question...

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    63

    hacme bank question...

    I've trying to install the hacme bank application to practice some web app pentesting...and the website says that all you need is xp, and dotnet1.1 from microsoft...the installation goes well the only problem is when I try to configure the sql server authentication, I get an error that is not finding the server...my question is do I have to install sql server? or am I using wrong authentication..Ive tried pretty much everything from the sa account with blank password to the windows authentication, also tried localhost in the computer/server fild, I found a solution googling around in which this person enter computername\SQLEXPRESS in the computer field.....tried that too and didn't work...if someone here could help me out ;0)

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    THE Bastard Sys***** dinowuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Third planet from the Sun
    Posts
    1,250
    From the download page...

    System Requirements
    Windows .NET Framework v1.1 (can be installed using Windows Update)
    Microsoft IIS
    MSDE or Microsoft SQL Server 2000
    Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.0
    09:F9:11:02:9D:74:E3:5B8:41:56:C5:63:56:88:C0

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    63
    I've installed all that and still can get pass the authentication setup for the SQL server

  4. #4
    THE Bastard Sys***** dinowuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Third planet from the Sun
    Posts
    1,250
    http://sqlserver2000.databases.aspfa...indows-xp.html

    What you installed is probably enterprise manager and query analyser.

    You need to have a web and database server. (Both can be on the same box)

    If you do not have a Server OS running, and your having this much trouble installing those tools, you might want to hold off on the "Pen Testing" for now.

    Just my opinion. Like *******s - everyone has em
    09:F9:11:02:9D:74:E3:5B8:41:56:C5:63:56:88:C0

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    63
    I have windows 2000 advance server on a vm, with sql and IIS but I use xp b/c that's what the foundstone website indicated...

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    63
    I tried windows 2000 server and it finally worked

    thanks for the help

Similar Threads

  1. Question Time
    By jm459 in forum Tech Humor
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: April 14th, 2004, 02:41 PM
  2. Bank of America next SCO Target
    By SDK in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 4th, 2004, 11:31 PM
  3. Maximum performance question
    By Fasheezy in forum Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 5th, 2004, 04:25 PM
  4. Test Your General Linux Knowledge
    By smirc in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: May 13th, 2002, 05:35 PM
  5. Test Your Knowledge of Redhat?
    By smirc in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 13th, 2002, 04:24 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •