help : coloured font at DOS, misspelled word in BIOS
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: help : coloured font at DOS, misspelled word in BIOS

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    58

    Angry help : coloured font at DOS, misspelled word in BIOS

    Hi,
    My PC sometimes gives me coloured fonts and mis-spelled words ('Defauht' instead of 'Default' etc) during booting, BIOS or DOS. Despite that, there is no significant problem to my PC. Any idea on where the problems could be? Could it be the board, hard disk or power?

    My pc is is built from a new GA-EP35-DS3 board, two DDR2 1066 ram, and older (from previous pc) nvidia 7900. My power unit labels 200W.

    Thanks for any help.

    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    This sounds like bad video memory...
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    58
    SirDice,
    Thanks. So the problem is with my grahpic card? Is there any way to resolve this?

  4. #4
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Yeah, replace the card..

    But before you do, have a look if the fans on the card are working properly..
    It might be just that.. If that's not the case the memory is probably broken..

    Your PSU seems to be a little bit underpowered too. But I would expect some different issues if it really was underpowered.
    350-400W is a minimum these days.. 500W isn't overkill anymore..
    Last edited by SirDice; July 21st, 2008 at 01:55 PM.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    A 200 Watt power supply? that will be a major problem, in my opinion..... SD is quite correct, you need at least 350, and I would not build with less than 500 these days.

    Is this a desktop or a laptop?

    With a desktop I would also look at the display monitor. They have some primitive intelligence in them that can give problems. See if you can use another monitor. Also, try changing the video monitor cable.

    With a video card problem I would expect problems to be more regular that you seem to suggest?

    Make sure that everything is clean and well-seated/connected.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    58
    Thanks for the help.

    My PC is a desktop. The PSU says the peak voltage is 500W and normal voltage is 200W. Maybe I gave the wrong one sorry.

    I took out the gcard and removed the fan and cleaned the dust. I haven't encounter any such error yet, hopefully it stays like that.

    For the other problems, there are sometimes weird 3D rendering during high quality gameplay and a notably higher tendency to have hard disk problems. Otherwise the system is normal.

    Another question : there are two power input cable (those with 4 pins) on my gcard but the guy who assembled my PC only used one. Is that normal?

    The BIOS shows that my CPU voltage is below the recommended 1.3875V, even though its set at 1.3875V in the BIOS. Is it alright for me to increase the voltage (to 1.39V etc) such that it reach 1.3875V and the same for my rams? It seems like my board have bad reputation for functionality.

  7. #7
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Quote Originally Posted by spellabc
    I took out the gcard and removed the fan and cleaned the dust. I haven't encounter any such error yet, hopefully it stays like that.

    For the other problems, there are sometimes weird 3D rendering during high quality gameplay {...}
    Right.. Both problems are caused by the same heat problem..

    In the past I've modded an ATI 9700 pro, took off the crappy el-cheapo fan and replaced it with a passive heatpipe cooler. Solved all my heat problems.

    Somehow they manage to always put the cheapest, crappiest fans on graphicscards, even the high priced ones
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Similar Threads

  1. Break BIOS Pass
    By Magic-Guy in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 8th, 2003, 10:55 PM
  2. cracking bios passwords and bypassing win 98 login password
    By raghuveer in forum General Computer Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: April 14th, 2003, 10:18 AM
  3. Trouble shooting BIOS Beep Code
    By Dr_Evil in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 7th, 2003, 03:44 PM
  4. BIOS upgrade - harware tutorial
    By Dr_Evil in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: January 6th, 2003, 11:57 PM
  5. Black Wolf's Guide to Memory Resident Viruses.
    By ahmedmamuda in forum AntiVirus Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 20th, 2002, 01:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides