Giving fax program rights.
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Giving fax program rights.

  1. #1
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683

    Giving fax program rights.

    Hi all

    Just a quick question seeing as nobody knows how to do this in my office. We have the fax console on our server with a fax modem connected to it.

    Anyway after wanting to send something confidential that nobody else can see I would like to do it over my built in fax program that I discovered in windows business. Apparetly it is only included in ultimate and business via control panel, add addition windows components.

    Anyway when I try to run it and "connect to a fax server" via the network - it picks up the server but throws me out with not enuf permissions.

    I have gone into the fax console on the server, added myself as a user and given me FULL access.

    I dont know where else to look and no one really wants to help me.

    Server is 2003.
    Exchange is 2007.
    Workstation is Vista business.

    Thanks.

    I will attach the screenshot from my workstation. The help file isnt much help either but this is a security issue, nothing to do with the fax program though.
    Last edited by Cider; October 25th, 2010 at 01:25 PM.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    If you've changed the groupmembership of your account you need to logoff and back on again for the new permissions to work.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Hey there SD

    I have logged off and on with my own account and with admin account on the domain.

    I have added myself to every security tab in the faxconsole and full permissions.

    Do I have to do somethign in AD or am I missing something.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  4. #4
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    I am not sure if this is of any relevance to your situation, but I believe that Vista will lauch some things with reduced privileges, even if you think that you are using an admin account?

    Anyway after wanting to send something confidential that nobody else can see I would like to do it over my built in fax program that I discovered in windows business.
    Are you sure that will work if you are using the corporate server and modem?

    I am afraid that I don't know how this works, as I only have Home Premium
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  5. #5
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    I know it gets logged but atleast it is better than printing it out and standing at the fax machine with the docs in hand

    Yeah Nihil home premium doesnt have this fax and scan feature, only business and ultimate.

    Thanks for the admin tip > right click > runas Administrator ...

    EDIT: Run as administrator I get the same messge, its something on the server which I need to change or add myself privledges too
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

Similar Threads

  1. Developing a Port Scanner in Python
    By HTRegz in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: January 28th, 2006, 07:02 PM
  2. Ti-83 Programming
    By Jareds411 in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 14th, 2005, 07:02 PM
  3. A Makefile Tutorial
    By volcanic in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 26th, 2003, 06:02 PM
  4. Establishing an Operations Security Program (OPSEC)
    By imported_Tek Weasel in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 25th, 2002, 12:19 AM
  5. Constitutional Rights
    By Waygate01 in forum Non-Security Archives
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: December 9th, 2001, 02:44 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides