RPM Locked???
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 41

Thread: RPM Locked???

  1. #1
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683

    RPM Locked???

    Hi all

    Well I finally got hold of a copy of VMware workstation. LOVE IT!

    Anyway installed mandrivia 10 through the live CD then did the full install.

    Now at this point I am very happy as I can now learn Linux. I will probaly be posting like crazy now and pm Gore

    I download our product for Linux. Panda For linux because I want to install something and see how it works. I will also be the only one in the office that will be able to support Linux eventually which kind of makes me indespensible. Good thing.

    However after double click on the file. Its got a .rpm extention which I believe is the package manager which linux uses to install things.

    When I do this I recieve a rpm database locked and I saw a uirpm database locked.

    Whats up with this

    Am I being n00b?

    If you need to give me instruction please do it in a way that someone who has never worked on linux before can follow.

    Thanks.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    What Linux distribution are you using?

    You need to be root to install rpms.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Hey

    Mandrake version 10 2008. The Live CD you download from their site.

    OK im with you.

    How do I do "run as" like in windows?

    Thanks.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  4. #4
    The Doctor Und3ertak3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,743
    RPM - RedHat Package Manager..
    SU
    Password
    rpm –ivh packagename
    upgrade a package
    rpm –Uvh packagename
    done
    Last edited by Und3ertak3r; August 15th, 2008 at 10:23 AM.
    "Consumer technology now exceeds the average persons ability to comprehend how to use it..give up hope of them being able to understand how it works." - Me http://www.cybercrypt.co.nr

  5. #5
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    Open a shell...

    Code:
    sudo rpm -Uvh package.rpm
    If sudo isn't installed or not configured..

    Code:
    su -
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  6. #6
    The Doctor Und3ertak3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,743
    After using windows most of your life, One easyway to use *nix..
    remove brain
    Wash thoroughly three or four times
    all the MicroShite should now be removed
    now safe to reinstall brain..and using any *nix will now be a breeze

    I joke.. but it feels that way at times at the start when you use Windows 8 hrs a day and never touched any other OS..
    "Consumer technology now exceeds the average persons ability to comprehend how to use it..give up hope of them being able to understand how it works." - Me http://www.cybercrypt.co.nr

  7. #7
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Exactly.

    Ok sorry to be a nub here but how do I open up a shell. I am embarresed yes.

    I suppose I msut RTFM?
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  8. #8
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    Open either gnome-terminal (if on GNOME) or Konsole (if running KDE).
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  9. #9
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Quote Originally Posted by SirDice
    Open a shell...

    Code:
    sudo rpm -Uvh package.rpm
    If sudo isn't installed or not configured..

    Code:
    su -
    Thanks SD.

    Hoever on your remarks above. Dont I jsut log into root as a user like admin in windows and double click the rpm and install?

    Can I run the above code fwhile logged in as normal user?

    Sorry just first time on here.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  10. #10
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    You normally do NOT login as root. You log in as a regular user and use su or sudo to get root access.

    Stop thinking that silly Windows way
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Similar Threads

  1. Computer locked
    By metguru in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: May 17th, 2006, 05:04 PM
  2. My Weekend Project - Locked HDD's
    By Und3ertak3r in forum Hardware
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: December 15th, 2005, 11:00 PM
  3. IE start page locked in strange way
    By journy101 in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: June 26th, 2003, 12:23 AM
  4. Vulnerability: Tiny Personal Firewall Locked Terminal Bypass
    By s0nIc in forum Firewall & Honeypot Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 3rd, 2002, 03:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •