Slipstreaming with Vista
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Slipstreaming with Vista

  1. #1
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683

    Slipstreaming with Vista

    Hi all

    trying to slipstream sp1 into a vista business install.

    tried nlite, didnt like my copied files from my vista disk.

    Googled abit and found vlite. To run this they want me to download a automatic isntall kit @ 1.1gigs which is jsut too big for me.

    any1 got any experience in this?

    thanks.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  2. #2
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Vista is gross...............2.4Gb or so?

    You need a fast internet connection with unlimited bandwidth

    Don't you know anybody?

    nLite will only work for Windows prior to Vista.

  3. #3
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    No I dont Nihil.

    Its okay, I will stay on XP until I can slipstream or might just actually install Vista and then update with SP1.

    The problem was my updates wouldnt install.

    Even after using belarc as you suggested it still threw out problems.

    I slipstreamed Sp3 into my XP install and went great using Nlite

    Anyway thanks for the heads up.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  4. #4
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    Cider: for what it's worth, vLite works really well. We've used it before. That said, however, Vista itself causes more problems then I've seen benefits even when we've slipstreamed it and removed what wasn't necessary.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  5. #5
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Cider,

    Either PM or E-mail me with a snailmail address and I will send you one............ takes about 5~7 days from the UK to SA (who are very impressive in the 1 day cricket right now?)

    Bloody thing took about 45 minutes to download!


  6. #6
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Thanks Nihil - Ill pm you the addy tomorrow. Gonna get my works PO box number ...
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

Similar Threads

  1. Windows Vista gaming, shooting blanks?
    By acidtone in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: February 14th, 2007, 02:14 PM
  2. Microsoft's new anti-piracy technology...
    By brokencrow in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: October 19th, 2006, 06:44 PM
  3. Cracking Windows Vista Beta 2 Local Passwords (SAM and SYSKEY)
    By Irongeek in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 12th, 2006, 07:17 AM
  4. It's getting closer and closer to upgrade time
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: September 11th, 2006, 12:32 AM
  5. Wait a minute... HOW many versions of Vista?
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: March 1st, 2006, 04:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •