My web page is giving security errors - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: My web page is giving security errors

  1. #11
    Disgruntled Postal Worker fourdc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    797
    Don't shoot me if this is totally wrong...

    I had some issue with a website I built with CSS. When I launched it locally, from the hard drive, usb or cd, IE would complain about ActiveX. After the site was posted. I could visit the same coded page and IE could've cared less.
    ddddc

    "Somehow saying I told you so just doesn't cover it" Will Smith in I, Robot

  2. #12
    Senior Member codenamevirus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Faridabad, Haryana, India
    Posts
    298
    Quote Originally Posted by IKnowNot View Post
    Did you try running through something like W3C CSS Validation Service ?
    No. I didnt but i'll go thru it.

    My brain is fried right now, but what is
    a.nameLinksVisited ?
    a.nameLinksVisited is a separate class that I designed. Please dont get confused by the name, this class is applied to content on a certain condition and not when a link is visited. At the end, I am adding the code, that may help you get rid of this confusion.

    Is it different in some way then
    a.nameLinks:visited
    ( Other then the missing colon )
    Please see the code below:

    Code:
    if (memberName.ToLower().Equals(sColumnData.ToLower()))
                            strHTML += "<a class=\"nameLinksVisited\" STYLE=\"text-decoration: none\" href=http://www.lifereg.net/Default.aspx?folderurl=Detailed_CV_FR&language=" + language + "&name=" + sColumnData.Replace(" ", "_") + ">" + sColumnData + "</a>";
                        else
                            strHTML += "<a class=\"nameLinks\" STYLE=\"text-decoration: none\" href=http://www.lifereg.net/Default.aspx?folderurl=Detailed_CV_FR&language=" + language + "&name=" + sColumnData.Replace(" ", "_") + ">" + sColumnData + "</a>";
    I hope this will clear your doubts. So, what can be done now?
    CodeNameVirus

  3. #13
    To the best of my knowledge, if you are using https you need to call all assets as https or you will that message about mixed secure and insecure items. Calling an asset straight http will make Explorer print that message - which makes sense because if you're behind https you want to know that everything's secure.

    Cheers,
    Niggles

  4. #14
    Senior Member codenamevirus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Faridabad, Haryana, India
    Posts
    298
    Quote Originally Posted by niggles View Post
    To the best of my knowledge, if you are using https you need to call all assets as https or you will that message about mixed secure and insecure items. Calling an asset straight http will make Explorer print that message - which makes sense because if you're behind https you want to know that everything's secure.
    Did that. still Not working.

    I did some more searches, and I found out this link: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/925014

    Can some one tell how to get rid of this now? Should I have different CSS designs for IE and the other browsers?
    CodeNameVirus

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    2
    Post the entire page or a link to it. You're definitely loading content through http on https page.

  6. #16
    Senior Member codenamevirus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Faridabad, Haryana, India
    Posts
    298

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by codenamevirus View Post
    I did some more searches, and I found out this link: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/925014
    Problem solved. The problem was exactly according to the problem mentioned in the above link. And it was due to the loading process of the background images. Followed the Solution Method 2 in there and poof the problem was gone.

    Quote Originally Posted by myork View Post
    Post the entire page or a link to it. You're definitely loading content through http on https page.
    Hi Myork, thanks for your advice. But, in my case, it was the problem as mentioned in the above link.
    CodeNameVirus

Similar Threads

  1. A guide to proactive network security
    By SDK in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 1st, 2004, 12:45 AM
  2. little flood problem...
    By thirstybrain in forum Programming Security
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 22nd, 2003, 08:27 AM
  3. NEWS: This weeks security news. 10/2/02
    By xmaddness in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 2nd, 2002, 10:32 PM
  4. NEWS: This weeks security news.
    By xmaddness in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: September 12th, 2002, 11:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •