.Net Framework 3.5 and GAC
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: .Net Framework 3.5 and GAC

  1. #1
    Senior Member codenamevirus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Faridabad, Haryana, India
    Posts
    298

    .Net Framework 3.5 and GAC

    Hi

    I have .Net Framework 3.0 installed on my machine.

    I want to know that if I install .Net Framework 3.5 over it, will clear out my GAC, or will it retain the previous GAC entries?

    Thanks
    CodeNameVirus

  2. #2
    Senior Member Wazz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    288
    No, it will retain all previous entries. The Framework 3.5 Assemblies will have different version numbers. You will see all updated Assembly files listed under the old version (ie Accessibility 1.0.5000.0 above Accessibility 2.0.0 in the list. You can only view this way in Windows Explorer in C:\WINDOWS\assembly. From a Command Line to C:\WINDOWS\assembly\GAC...you will only see limited info.
    Last edited by Wazz; November 4th, 2008 at 10:35 AM.
    "It is a shame that stupidity is not painful" - Anton LaVey

  3. #3
    Senior Member codenamevirus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Faridabad, Haryana, India
    Posts
    298
    ok thanks a lot.
    CodeNameVirus

  4. #4
    Senior Member Wazz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    288
    You're Welcome
    "It is a shame that stupidity is not painful" - Anton LaVey

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •