Building my Security Lab using VMWare or Virtual PC
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Building my Security Lab using VMWare or Virtual PC

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    32

    Building my Security Lab using VMWare or Virtual PC

    Hi all,

    i`m looking at building my own security lab at home for testing and general playing about with exploits and learning a bit more about security. I know epople say have a good mix of OS's and have a few boxes, but thing is I live in a dolls house and dont have the room for 1 PC let alone 2 or 3. So I was thinking of using something like VMWare or virtual PC and build my lab inside my Laptop. I`d need to buy a new laptop as I only have a D505 at the moment which is a tad weady.

    Just wanted to know how feasable this was? and if so what kinda spec should the laptop be, my thoughts were dual core at least with at least 2 GB RAM. anyone else have any comments?

    Thanx

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    Yeah.. Get even more memory... Running a virtual machine eats up memory like nothing else. More memory means being able to run more VMs at the same time.

    So I suggest getting 4GB and a 64bit OS. The 64bit (host) OS will not only allow you to run 'regular' i386 guests but also 64bit guests.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    32
    forgive me for sounding thick but can I run a 64bit OS on a laptop with a 32 bit processor or is it just gonna think im having a laugh!!!
    Last edited by phobophiliac; November 18th, 2008 at 03:57 PM.

  4. #4
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    Quote Originally Posted by phobophiliac View Post
    forgive me for sounding thick but can I run a 64bit OS on a laptop with a 32 bit processor
    Nope, can't be done. A core2dual is EM64T, so it's a 64bit processor. Just make sure you get the 64bit version of Vista or XP.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3,914
    Quote Originally Posted by SirDice View Post
    So I suggest getting 4GB and a 64bit OS. The 64bit (host) OS will not only allow you to run 'regular' i386 guests but also 64bit guests.
    Interesting thing about this... You no longer need a x64 host in order to run x64 guests.. You did in the era of VMWare Workstation 5.x but with 6.x you can run x64 guests on a x86 host (assuming you have a x64 processor)


    phobophiliac: I would highly recommend VMWare Server 2.0. Consider it to be the "God" of all things vmware and remote.
    IT Blog: .:Computer Defense:.
    PnCHd (Pronounced Pinched): Acronym - Point 'n Click Hacked. As in: "That website was pinched" or "The skiddie pinched my computer because I forgot to patch".

  6. #6
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    Quote Originally Posted by HTRegz View Post
    Interesting thing about this... You no longer need a x64 host in order to run x64 guests.. You did in the era of VMWare Workstation 5.x but with 6.x you can run x64 guests on a x86 host (assuming you have a x64 processor)
    Yeah.. You're right.. From the vmware server faq:

    What does 64-bit operating system support mean?

    It means that 64-bit guest operating systems will run on supported 64-bit hardware independent of the type of host operating system.
    This didn't used to be the case.

    But you're going to need a 64bit host OS anyway if you want to make full use of 4GB (or more)
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,052
    I dont think a d505 takes up to anywhere near 4gb though :-P I'd def. check out vmware desktop though..

  8. #8
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    He's planning on buying a new laptop

    My HP/Compaq 6510 is quite capable of handling 4GB.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Similar Threads

  1. Tips
    By XTC46 in forum Site Feedback/Questions/Suggestions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: August 24th, 2005, 08:52 PM
  2. Tcp/ip
    By gore in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: December 29th, 2003, 08:01 AM
  3. Microsoft plans Windows overhaul to fight hackers
    By tekno in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: October 15th, 2003, 08:51 AM
  4. NEWS: This weeks security news
    By xmaddness in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 25th, 2002, 09:53 PM
  5. NEWS: This weeks security news.
    By xmaddness in forum Security News
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: August 15th, 2002, 04:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •