BSOD problem with HP Pavillion
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: BSOD problem with HP Pavillion

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    9

    BSOD problem with HP Pavillion

    Hey all,

    Here is the problem I have an HP Pavillion Entertainment PC (notebook 32bit, 2gb Ram, etc) straight out of the box.

    In order to make this compliant with the network standards that we have here I have to dumb it down to XP instead of Vista. Problem is when it goes to start XP off the install disk it BSOD's on me.

    I have tried upgrading the BIOS, diff disks, and have checked the HD for errors as suggested by other sites and I am still haveing no luck.

    Has anyone else ran into this problem and have a solution or work around for it?

    Thanks in advance.

    Jon

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    168
    What model hp?
    What version of xp including service pack?
    Try an external cd rom. Is a virtual machine a possibility?

    Generally with newer hps that come with vista, you will have a hard time finding drivers if any at all. By downgrading, you will be losing a lot of the functionality that comes with the laptop. I dont recommend doing it and would opt for getting one of the few models that still come with xp installed.
    <chsh> I've read more interesting technical discussion on the wall of a public bathroom than I have at AO at times

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    9
    Pavillion dv5 (sorry thought I posted that)
    XP Pro SP2

    Good thought on that. Will have to run that by my boss se what they say.

    Your input is appreciated.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Wazz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    288
    Dumb question but you are booting from the XP disk right? Also, make sure you format both HP partitions (Recovery and Vista) if you can get that far (when you say it goes to start XP off the install disk do you mean right away or after the disk check, file copy, etc.?).
    "It is a shame that stupidity is not painful" - Anton LaVey

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    9
    Quote Originally Posted by Wazz View Post
    Dumb question but you are booting from the XP disk right? Also, make sure you format both HP partitions (Recovery and Vista) if you can get that far (when you say it goes to start XP off the install disk do you mean right away or after the disk check, file copy, etc.?).
    No such thing as a dumb question.....

    Yes, I am booting from the xp disk. Did not try formatting the recovery partition... that one never crossed my mind. Will have to try that. It loads all the files then says "Starting Windows for the first time, then BSODs. Will let you know if the partition thing works.

    Thanks for your help.

  6. #6
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    Yeah...remove all partitions and format the full drive.

    HP may have a disk utility running...which may be the issue.

    Also ...you may want to get XP sp3 integrated into the XP install ...this may help with the newer hardware.

    The BSOD error code may point to the actuall hardware\issue with XP


    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms789516.aspx


    MLF
    Last edited by morganlefay; December 18th, 2008 at 04:17 PM.
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    9
    Currently trying the above. Hopefully that works. Do you think that it might be the dual processor and sp2?

    This might be a newbie question, so sorry if this is rather basic As I am kinda new to using the developer software, how hard would it be to make a disk with the install and SP3as we do not have one in house already?

    Again many thanks for everyones help.

  8. #8
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    http://www.howtohaven.com/system/sli...e-pack-3.shtml

    I am thinking if it goes through the whole install and goes to start XP....its the video card

    Definately a driver issue.

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    9
    I guess that it was somewhat of a driver issue. Formatted partitions, boot into BIOS disable the dual chip, install xp SP2, install SP3 reboot into BIOS enable dual chip and voila it worked.

    Again many thanks for the input. Really helped.

    Jon

  10. #10
    Senior Member Wazz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    288
    Awesome......
    "It is a shame that stupidity is not painful" - Anton LaVey

Similar Threads

  1. Serious Problem
    By IcSilk in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: October 30th, 2005, 10:01 PM
  2. Spam problem
    By FamStars&Straps in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 12th, 2003, 05:33 AM
  3. 500 mile email problem
    By Tedob1 in forum Tech Humor
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 23rd, 2002, 03:58 PM
  4. C problem...
    By Rna in forum General Programming Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 22nd, 2002, 07:03 AM
  5. Help! I've got a nasty IDE problem
    By thesecretfire in forum Hardware
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: May 17th, 2002, 12:31 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides