Thread: Vista File Permission Dilemma

Hybrid View

Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar

Vista File Permission Dilemma

Hi all,

I have 2 HDD which one is used for my OS and one for data. I was using Vista business X64 but decided to put on XP Pro. However after reformatting my OS HDD and putting on XP half my files are now hitting with me with "access denied. It is obviously looking for my Vista user account and will only let you open the folder / run the file. I have rebooted into safe mode and set myself as the owner and given all permissions. I am an admin on the machine as well.
    Anyknow how I can get around this or do I have to use datarecovery , ghost the drive and then set the permissions. I have attached a screenshot of the encryption that is on a particular file which is then asking about certificates.

If anyone has any suggestions, thanks in advance.
    Last edited by Cider; October 25th, 2010 at 01:25 PM.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

Hi,

Did you make a backup of your EFS certificate? If you did then all you should need is a Vista machine. Here is a tutorial on what to do:

http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/99...e-restore.html

You would need to do this on either another machine or on the same machine if you reinstalled Vista without decrypting your encrypted files first. It is worth bearing that in mind folks, as the situation may arise where you have to recover data from a drive that you have slaved to another Vista box, where the certificates will be different

I believe that Vista creates a new certificate each time you install it, but I don't use EFS and I only have the Home Premium edition so I could be wrong? Obviously the new or different certificate won't unlock files that have been encrypted using the original certificate.

There is a commercial product that is supposed to fix this: