How to install MacOS - the correct way
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: How to install MacOS - the correct way

  1. #1
    Member bradlesliect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    CT - SA
    Posts
    74

    Red face How to install MacOS - the correct way

    Hey there,

    Does anyone run MacOS around here. I have never used it and now trying to install in on an Intel box in a vmware environment. I got as far as where it needs to partition, fdisk and format the virtuak disk but each time it spits out an "Error: nknown filesystem, aborting installation, press a key to restart"

    Why the heck is this happening? I tried the manual partition thing but the error is the same. I select manual partition, select the drive, tell it to auto and then it bombs with same freakin error above.

    Yes I know, if you want to use MacOS ...get yourself a Mac but I cant afford it and some clients are starting to use Mac and want me to support.

    Advice,help, comments...SOS .......anything....

    Thanks. appreciate it.
    .....I rather not say....

  2. #2
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Have you tried a manual format?

    What file system are you trying to install it onto?

  3. #3
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    Have you tried following these: http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/in.../Vmware_how_to ?

    I haven't heard of MacOS success but have heard of Darwin being installed ok (with some struggle).
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  4. #4
    Member bradlesliect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    CT - SA
    Posts
    74
    Quote Originally Posted by nihil View Post
    Have you tried a manual format?

    What file system are you trying to install it onto?

    ... as i said, its the first time I am doing this so i dont have a clue how to do this. I have tried the manual format. I select hfs, ufs, boot+hfs,etc and nada....it dont work. gives me that error. i dont know if i am supposed to init the partition after i select the type or what...
    .....I rather not say....

  5. #5
    Member bradlesliect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    CT - SA
    Posts
    74
    MsMittens ....have you done this before? this doc looks vaguely familiar and I think I have tried this way already and did not get this far. did you follow this doc? insanely mac has another doc which i am going to take a look at as well.
    .....I rather not say....

  6. #6
    AO's Filibustier Cheap Scotch Ron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Swamps of Jersey
    Posts
    378
    In God We Trust....Everything else we backup.

  7. #7
    Member bradlesliect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    CT - SA
    Posts
    74
    Dont worry....it is a legal copy...this is probably why i am struggling to install it...
    .....I rather not say....

  8. #8
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Brad,

    Was your copy of the OS designed for use with Intel processor hardware?

    I saw your replies, so it isn't the format that is the issue.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    677
    Funny. This the same cat that told me to take my meds when I posted a working OSX emulation. Even C/net.com teaches you how to install the thing and that site is geared for n00bies. In 2 hrs, I will have a legal copy of Solaris to play with

    Link to file freeware file converter. Special thanks to Mrs. Bobbie.
    http://tinyurl.com/b5oyn4


    this video is the same but advertises my SamSung Monitor.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8oVU5AjqhU
    Last edited by Linen0ise; February 3rd, 2009 at 04:40 AM.

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    677
    you will need vmware to run a special .iso to convert the filesystem on the OSX cd in order for it to read natively. Make sure you have your cdrom boot first before the HDD.

Similar Threads

  1. Packet Sniffing(tcpdump install and first use)
    By IchNiSan in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: October 11th, 2005, 12:31 PM
  2. Adaware won't install & install file is deleted
    By Und3ertak3r in forum Spyware / Adware
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: December 18th, 2004, 02:48 PM
  3. OpiOS
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 17th, 2004, 11:22 AM
  4. Tutorial: Linux Installation -- RedHat 7.x -- i386 Arch.
    By MrLinus in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: December 10th, 2003, 02:16 PM
  5. How to install the latest Wine?
    By wacky_sung in forum *nix Security Discussions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: May 3rd, 2003, 12:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •