Remote Desktop - Alternative? - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Remote Desktop - Alternative?

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,053
    I've always used RDC and/or VNC, any VNC app will do, there are even free ones :-)

  2. #12
    Super Moderator
    Know-it-All Master Beaver

    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3,914
    I must say that between RDP, VNC, LogMeIn, GoToMyPC and the alternatives that I definitely prefer RDP.... RDP over VPN is great but RDP itself works just fine.

    Have you considered setting up VPN (even if it's just PPTP) to the system as a backup and continuing to rely on RDP? That way after you reboot, even if RDP doesn't come up (although I work from home a couple days a week (RDP into 2 boxes on those days) and have a remote Windows server that I RDP into and I can say that I've only had a problem once... The issue turned out to be a ATI driver update)... anyways back on track... if RDP doesn't come up you can jump on the VPN and restart services, access the registry and perform any management sort of things that you desire remotely in order to restore RDP.
    IT Blog: .:Computer Defense:.
    PnCHd (Pronounced Pinched): Acronym - Point 'n Click Hacked. As in: "That website was pinched" or "The skiddie pinched my computer because I forgot to patch".

  3. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Yes
    Posts
    4,429
    Thanks for the different scenarios and hands-on tips, everyone I'll definitely keep using RDP as my main connection option - I'll look into setting up a VPN, which would have solved our problem (the RDP service not starting correctly) this time.

  4. #14
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    UltraVNC works great for me from home to work. Was abit of a pain to setup to my vista workstation however eventually got it working.

    I still need to setup a VPN on our hardware here at work.

    For customer support i use teamviewer which costs quite abit but you dont need to configure any ports / forwarding.

    Dont know how it gets passed all our hardware but anyway
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  5. #15
    AO's Filibustier Cheap Scotch Ron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Swamps of Jersey
    Posts
    378
    Dont know how it gets passed all our hardware but anyway
    It uses an encrypted (AES 256) http session on ports 80 and 5938.
    You could probably stop it by blocking outbound on 5938.

    FYI...Was written by the same guys that wrote TightVNC (another decent and free VNC solution).
    In God We Trust....Everything else we backup.

  6. #16
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Heh, thanks for the info.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

Similar Threads

  1. Windows Error Messages
    By cheyenne1212 in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 1st, 2012, 02:51 PM
  2. Trojans - Ports
    By GbinaryR in forum AntiVirus Discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: October 30th, 2008, 10:33 AM
  3. Port List
    By ThePreacher in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: December 14th, 2006, 09:37 PM
  4. Network Security made easy?
    By Tiger Shark in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 14th, 2005, 08:47 PM
  5. ports
    By hatebreed2000 in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 14th, 2003, 06:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •