XP vs. Vista NTFS
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: XP vs. Vista NTFS

  1. #1
    Dissident 4dm1n brokencrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Shawnee country
    Posts
    1,243

    XP vs. Vista NTFS

    How different is the newer version of NTFS than the old?

    I formatted a disk w/ a Vista CD and installed XP. It seemed
    to run OK but I had some controller-matrix driver issues. Looks
    like I've got to redo this whole shebang from what I can tell.

    Is it possible to damage a drive using the wrong file system?

    Thanks.
    “Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.” — Will Rogers

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    Quote Originally Posted by brokencrow View Post
    How different is the newer version of NTFS than the old?
    It's slightly different. Vista's NTFS has transactional NTFS support among other things.

    I formatted a disk w/ a Vista CD and installed XP. It seemed to run OK but I had some controller-matrix driver issues. Looks like I've got to redo this whole shebang from what I can tell.
    While the different NTFS versions are for the most part fully forward- and backward-compatible, there are technical considerations for mounting newer NTFS volumes in older versions of Microsoft Windows. This affects dual-booting, and external portable hard drives.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NTFS

    Is it possible to damage a drive using the wrong file system?
    No, but the filesystem itself might get mangled..
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    Dissident 4dm1n brokencrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Shawnee country
    Posts
    1,243
    Looks like the HDD's bad. Spinrite's kicking out a critical error,
    then failing to run. I've got to get into Dell's diags and run those.
    Argh, this one was supposed to be easy.
    “Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.” — Will Rogers

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    500
    Just out of curiosity, why did you use a vista cd to format, instead of just using the xp cd?
    I've only done something like that once, when I couldn't get the partition manager to run on a certain flavor of linux, and used a different distro to setup partitions before installing it.

    I would have thought there would be no issues either. Good to know there are slight differences...
    Ron Paul: Hope for America
    http://www.ronpaul2008.com/

  5. #5
    Dissident 4dm1n brokencrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Shawnee country
    Posts
    1,243
    Quote Originally Posted by cross View Post
    ...why did you use a vista cd to format, instead of just using the xp cd?
    It was actually a Vista PE disk. I decided to ghost the drive before I
    formatted it and having the Vista PE disk in there, just thought, "Format
    now."

    This one's ugly. The Dell diags say the drive's fine. Picked up a new
    SATA drive (WD Scorpio) slighty larger than the original and put it in
    there and Spinrite runs great. But Spinrite still won't run on the user's
    OEM Samsung drive. And I'm still wrestling with these Samsung iso's.
    Can't get a good burn in Ubuntu (that's unusual) so I can run their diags.
    Time to boot up XP. Samsung's got an .exe diag so maybe I can do
    the SATA--to-USB thing, or maybe Nero will give me a good burn via
    XP.

    "We shall see as the blind man said, as he reached for his hammer and nails."
    “Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.” — Will Rogers

  6. #6
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Well as I started a thread a while back, I had a vista machine with data on it. Upon backing up my data and putting on XP I had great difficulty getting my data back due to security and file permissions.

    The solution was to plug my HDD into a vista machine and change the file permissions as this couldn't be don't in XP whatsoever due to file system.

    :/

    edit: took me about 5 minutes to fix my grammar ...
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  7. #7
    Dissident 4dm1n brokencrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Shawnee country
    Posts
    1,243
    Is there a way, a command to run, to tell one NTFS format from another?

    I tri-boot XP, Vista and Ubuntu on my good laptop and I don't appear
    to have any issues accessing my Vista user folders, incl. docs, from
    the other two OS's. I set it up last July or August and installed XP. I
    can't remember if I partitioned everything from the XP cd or maybe
    an XP PE cd. Regardless, I haven't had any issues running Vista if that
    partition was formatted w/ XP.
    “Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.” — Will Rogers

  8. #8
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    at cmd type

    fsutil fsinfo ntfsinfo C:
    My current box
    XP PRO SP3 = version 3.1


    MLF

    EDIT>fixed typo
    Last edited by morganlefay; March 18th, 2009 at 09:02 PM. Reason: fixed typo
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  9. #9
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Thanks MLF for the tip.

    Well On my XP machine now I cannot access any of the files still because I havent plugged it into a vista box as nihil suggested.

    You know any command to maybe change this?

    Basically i get this file is not a valid win32 app.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  10. #10
    Dissident 4dm1n brokencrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Shawnee country
    Posts
    1,243
    XP, Vista, Servers 2K2 and 2K8 all use v3.1 according to the Wikipedia
    piece. This Vista setup is v3.1, though it appears the OS adds the
    enhanced features. This from Wikipedia:

    "Windows Vista introduced Transactional NTFS, NTFS symbolic links,
    partition shrinking and self-healing functionality[12] though these
    features owe more to additional functionality of the operating system
    than the file system itself."
    “Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.” — Will Rogers

Similar Threads

  1. Microsoft's new anti-piracy technology...
    By brokencrow in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: October 19th, 2006, 06:44 PM
  2. Cracking Windows Vista Beta 2 Local Passwords (SAM and SYSKEY)
    By Irongeek in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: September 12th, 2006, 07:17 AM
  3. It's getting closer and closer to upgrade time
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: September 11th, 2006, 12:32 AM
  4. Wait a minute... HOW many versions of Vista?
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: March 1st, 2006, 04:40 PM
  5. FAT vs. NTFS The ultimate Guide to Win file systems.
    By xmaddness in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: August 6th, 2003, 10:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •