Word 2007 Macro errors
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Word 2007 Macro errors

  1. #1
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683

    Word 2007 Macro errors

    Hey guys,

    Lady in the office always get this macro error when opening word or a word doc. She will then have to click on close about 5 - 10 times before being able to work on the document.

    Please check the attached screenshots. Word_1 - opening , Word_2 - closing.

    We don't use macros.

    Any help appreciated.

    Thanks in advance for any info.
    Last edited by Cider; October 25th, 2010 at 02:25 PM.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  2. #2
    AO's Filibustier Cheap Scotch Ron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Swamps of Jersey
    Posts
    378
    Check the word startup folder. There may be a template (.dot) that is getting loaded on startup that contains macros.
    In God We Trust....Everything else we backup.

  3. #3
    Senior Member t34b4g5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Australia.
    Posts
    2,391
    Un-install and re-install see if that solves it.

  4. #4
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    HEY CSR

    I deleted the normal.dot file and was unsuccesful.

    When I run it with the /a parameter it starts up correctly. I just edited the ladies shortcut to winword /a for this.

    I was trying to create a batch file to run the start > run "winword.exe /a" command but couldn't get this going!

    Need to do some reading on batch files 0_o.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  5. #5
    AO's Filibustier Cheap Scotch Ron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Swamps of Jersey
    Posts
    378
    I deleted the normal.dot file and was unsuccesful.
    Doesnt surprise me. The error messages in your post suggest that the normal.dot is being changed upon startup of word. When you say you dont use macros, do you mean you have them turned off or set to prompt? It's possible there is a file in your startup folder that is getting opened and executed when you start word normally.

    In Word 2007, go to Word Options, then Advanced, note the Startup folder, then browse that folder. Defaults to c:\documents and settings\username\Application Data\Microsoft\Word\STARTUP\. There shouldnt be anything in it.

    Also check the Add-Ins... Word Options, then Add-Ins.
    In God We Trust....Everything else we backup.

Similar Threads

  1. Errors, Vulnerabilities & Exploits Explained
    By White Scorpion in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 30th, 2008, 09:10 PM
  2. Learning to program from a security point of view
    By hellforgedangel in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: April 29th, 2004, 11:58 PM
  3. Error Detection Techniques(Parity Bit)
    By w0lverine in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 19th, 2003, 08:58 PM
  4. Visual Basic Macro in Word 2000
    By eeshman in forum Programming Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 18th, 2002, 10:45 AM
  5. Black Wolf's Guide to Memory Resident Viruses.
    By ahmedmamuda in forum AntiVirus Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 20th, 2002, 02:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •