How to uninstall Vista Business without loosing XP Pro
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to uninstall Vista Business without loosing XP Pro

  1. #1
    Senior Member codenamevirus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Faridabad, Haryana, India
    Posts
    298

    Question How to uninstall Vista Business without loosing XP Pro

    Hi all

    Probably this question is quite common, and answered many time, but I wasnt able to find a solution even after googling.

    My situation is:

    I have 2 HDDs. The first hard disk has 2 OS - Vista Business in C: and XP Pro on F: and the second one is completely for data storage.

    XP and Vista are on dual boot with the Vista Boot Loader.

    Now, when I go to the Disk Management (in Computer Management from XP), I see the following information about the OS Drive:

    C: (Windows Vista) 20 GB - HEALTHY (SYSTEM)
    F: (Windows XP) 20 GB - HEALTHY (BOOT)

    D: and E: are from the DATA Hard disk.

    Please provide me with the steps I should follow, to safely uninstall Vista and remove it from my system without loosing my Windows XP Installation.

    Please let me know, if you need more information about my system.

    Thanks

    COde
    CodeNameVirus

  2. #2
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    I think the third option here is what you want?

    http://www.tech-faq.com/how-to-uninstall-vista.shtml

    It is where Vista is on the same drive but a different partition to XP.

  3. #3
    StOrM™
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,003
    This might offer some help too..

    http://apcmag.com/how_to_dual_boot_v...step_guide.htm



    I have a question (in general I guess).. why don't people use Virtual Machines ?
    Parth Maniar,
    CISSP, CISM, CISA, SSCP

    *Thank you GOD*

    Greater the Difficulty, SWEETER the Victory.

    Believe in yourself.

  4. #4
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    If your XP MBR gets screwed this tool might help.................I know it says LILO but it works for GRUB and presumably other bootloaders as well.



    http://www.ambience.sk/fdisk-master-...ilo-fixmbr.php

  5. #5
    Senior Member codenamevirus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Faridabad, Haryana, India
    Posts
    298
    ok, i'll try the above options and update you with my progress.
    CodeNameVirus

Similar Threads

  1. Microsoft's new anti-piracy technology...
    By brokencrow in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: October 19th, 2006, 06:44 PM
  2. It's getting closer and closer to upgrade time
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: September 11th, 2006, 12:32 AM
  3. Wait a minute... HOW many versions of Vista?
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: March 1st, 2006, 04:40 PM
  4. Starting a Computer Business?
    By |3lack|ce in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: June 8th, 2005, 04:44 PM
  5. The Worlds Longest Thread!
    By Noble Hamlet in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 1100
    Last Post: March 17th, 2002, 09:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •