OpneSUSE 11.1 cant mount cd-rw/dvd-rw
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: OpneSUSE 11.1 cant mount cd-rw/dvd-rw

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    11

    OpneSUSE 11.1 cant mount cd-rw/dvd-rw

    when I try to mount /dev/cdrom I get this:

    mount: /dev/sr0: unknown device

    To look where the symlink is going I do this:

    ls -l /dev/ | grep cdrom

    And get:

    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 3 Jun 18 07:54 cdrom -> sr0

    So I look at what cat /proc/sys/dev/cdrom/info and I get:

    CD-ROM information, Id: cdrom.c 3.20 2003/12/17

    drive name: sr0
    drive speed: 24
    drive # of slots: 1
    Can close tray: 1
    Can open tray: 1
    Can lock tray: 1
    Can change speed: 1
    Can select disk: 0
    Can read multisession: 1
    Can read MCN: 1
    Reports media changed: 1
    Can play audio: 1
    Can write CD-R: 1
    Can write CD-RW: 1
    Can read DVD: 1
    Can write DVD-R: 1
    Can write DVD-RAM: 0
    Can read MRW: 1
    Can write MRW: 1
    Can write RAM: 1




    Here is the output from dmesg:

    EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
    udevd version 128 started
    scsi 1:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg0 type 5
    sd 2:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg1 type 0
    Linux agpgart interface v0.103
    intel_rng: FWH not detected
    input: PC Speaker as /devices/platform/pcspkr/input/input2
    pci_hotplug: PCI Hot Plug PCI Core version: 0.5
    sr0: scsi3-mmc drive: 24x/24x writer cd/rw xa/form2 cdda tray
    Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.20
    sr 1:0:0:0: Attached scsi CD-ROM sr0
    input: Power Button (FF) as /devices/LNXSYSTM:00/LNXPWRBN:00/input/input3
    agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: Intel 865 Chipset
    agpgart-intel 0000:00:00.0: AGP aperture is 128M @ 0xe8000000
    i801_smbus 0000:00:1f.3: PCI INT B -> GSI 17 (level, low) -> IRQ 17
    ACPI: Power Button (FF) [PWRF]
    input: Power Button (CM) as /devices/LNXSYSTM:00/device:00/PNP0C0C:00/input/input4
    iTCO_vendor_support: vendor-support=0
    shpchp: Standard Hot Plug PCI Controller Driver version: 0.4
    iTCO_wdt: Intel TCO WatchDog Timer Driver v1.03 (30-Apr-2008)
    iTCO_wdt: failed to reset NO_REBOOT flag, reboot disabled by hardware
    iTCO_wdt: No card detected
    ACPI: Power Button (CM) [VBTN]
    Intel ICH 0000:00:1f.5: PCI INT B -> GSI 17 (level, low) -> IRQ 17

    Here is what lies at the bottom of the dmesg when I put in a cd:

    sr0: CDROM not ready yet.
    sr0: CDROM not ready yet.
    sr0: CDROM not ready yet.
    sr0: CDROM not ready yet.
    sr0: CDROM not ready yet.
    sr0: CDROM not ready yet.

    ad infinitum

    No fstab entries were in place for my cdrom. So I put some in:

    /dev/sr0 /media/cdrom auto noauto,user,sync 0 0

    And I have done various plays on that line like tryin to put in iso9660 and such.
    Running ps -ef | grep hald gets me this:

    103 1728 1 0 Jun18 ? 00:00:01 /usr/sbin/hald --daemon=yes
    root 1794 1728 0 Jun18 ? 00:00:00 hald-runner
    root 1805 1794 0 Jun18 ? 00:00:00 hald-addon-input: Listening on /dev/input/event0 /dev/input/event4 /dev/input/event3
    root 1831 1794 0 Jun18 ? 00:00:01 hald-addon-storage: no polling on /dev/fd0 because it is explicitlydisabled
    103 1836 1794 0 Jun18 ? 00:00:00 hald-addon-acpi: listening on acpid socket /var/run/acpid.socket
    root 1838 1794 0 Jun18 ? 00:00:34 hald-addon-storage: polling /dev/sr0 (every 2 sec)
    root 7698 7572 0 23:23 pts/2 00:00:00 grep hald

    I have tried using different disk and I have googled my brains out. I have been at this for a couple days now trying a combination of things and I'm gettin no where. The LED on the burner lights up and the drive will spin, but I cant get it to mount and I cant get any application to recongnize the drive. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    AO BOFH: Luser Abuser BModeratorFH gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    Why are you trying to mount it? SUSE hasn't required mounting manually in years. Just put a disk in, and with KDE or Gnome, it'll pop up and ask what you want to do.

    If that doesn't work open up Yast2, go to hardware, and the CD / DVD drives, and make sure the drive works under Linux.
    Kill the lights, let the candles burn behind the pumpkins’ mischievous grins, and let the skeletons dance. For one thing is certain, The Misfits have returned and once again everyday is Halloween.The Misfits FreeBSD
    Cannibal Holocaust
    SuSE Linux
    Slackware Linux

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    22

    Mounting

    Hi,

    What I usually do is just mount it as a virtual image to a DVD-ROM and boot it from there. It is far easier and much more secure that way.

  4. #4
    AO BOFH: Luser Abuser BModeratorFH gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    Quote Originally Posted by kevomate66 View Post
    Hi,

    What I usually do is just mount it as a virtual image to a DVD-ROM and boot it from there. It is far easier and much more secure that way.
    He didn't say anything about booting, and how is this more secure exactly?
    Kill the lights, let the candles burn behind the pumpkins’ mischievous grins, and let the skeletons dance. For one thing is certain, The Misfits have returned and once again everyday is Halloween.The Misfits FreeBSD
    Cannibal Holocaust
    SuSE Linux
    Slackware Linux

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    11

    no dice

    Gore:
    I tried putting in several disk and nothing comes up. I went under hardware in YAST but theres no cdrom icon, so I went into hardware info and it found all the specs for my cdrom. At the bottom it says notready:yes So I'm not sure if that has something to do with it. Regardless I'm still not able to access any disk that I put in my cdrom. Any other ideas?

  6. #6
    Senior Member IKnowNot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    792
    Try a different CD rom!
    " And maddest of all, to see life as it is and not as it should be" --Miguel Cervantes

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    11
    Already workin on that. But theres really no reason why I should have to resort to that. The system is recongnizing it fine, it's a configuration problem. I'm still googlin tryin to find something but I'm still open to suggestions.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    11
    Something interesting, if I do a media check via YAST on the cd-rom it says "Cannot read medium in the drive /dev/sr0." Even though there is no disk in the drive. Whhaaat....?

  9. #9
    AO BOFH: Luser Abuser BModeratorFH gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    Quote Originally Posted by lionhearted2005 View Post
    Something interesting, if I do a media check via YAST on the cd-rom it says "Cannot read medium in the drive /dev/sr0." Even though there is no disk in the drive. Whhaaat....?
    Umm, Media check as in... "CD-ROM" Media... It's trying to check the CD-ROM for problems.
    Kill the lights, let the candles burn behind the pumpkins’ mischievous grins, and let the skeletons dance. For one thing is certain, The Misfits have returned and once again everyday is Halloween.The Misfits FreeBSD
    Cannibal Holocaust
    SuSE Linux
    Slackware Linux

  10. #10
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    Hi there lion~,

    Perhaps you just have a simple hardware failure? I have seen numerous cases of hardware components being recognised by the system but they just won't work.

    I would normally connect them to another machine to confirm that they were dead, but in this case I would suggest going into the BIOS and making the CD/DVD the first boot option.

    Insert another distros boot CD and reboot. If it works then you know your hardware is basically OK. You can even do this with an old Windows CD or a bootable applications CD.

    If it won't boot then the only other thing I think you might try is flashing the CD/DVDs firmware.

    From a research viewpoint try Googling for the make and model of CD/DVD and searching in the results for Open Suse. It just might be some sort of hardware compatibility issue?

    The media check error is a little misleading I suspect. It is looking to check the media but cannot actually see the drive......so it cannot see the media in it or detect that there isn't any. I guess it gives you the closest error message it can find?
    Last edited by nihil; June 23rd, 2009 at 10:14 AM.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

Similar Threads

  1. Slow mount: Solaris nfs server, Linux Clients
    By wiskic10_4 in forum General Computer Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 7th, 2005, 07:16 PM
  2. The history of the Mac line of Operating systems
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 7th, 2004, 07:02 AM
  3. Accessing The HD
    By scriptkiddie18 in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: January 26th, 2004, 12:10 AM
  4. redhat 9 and the mount command!
    By mosad2 in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 28th, 2003, 03:54 AM
  5. how do i auto mount?
    By rollin5150 in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: June 20th, 2002, 08:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides