VMware NAT problem.
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: VMware NAT problem.

  1. #1
    StOrM™
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,003

    VMware NAT problem.

    It's really frustrating but I’m getting VMware NAT problem using any virtual machine. Machines don't pickup IP's at all. They take up 169 IP range, of course this means they don't get connected to the internet.

    Although not required but I've turned off my firewall (and the one on the virtual machines) and tried out but nothing.. Machines just don't get the NAT IPs and end up taking 169 range IPs..


    I use VMware on Windows Vista business.


    Any help would really be appreciated..
    Parth Maniar,
    CISSP, CISM, CISA, SSCP

    *Thank you GOD*

    Greater the Difficulty, SWEETER the Victory.

    Believe in yourself.

  2. #2
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Hey Byte,

    I have the exact same setup as you.

    Vista Business with Vmware and no problems.

    I setup a 2k3 server which was leasing my DHCP addresses correctly ...

    Hmmm, dont know what could be the problem? Have you tried it without Natting and giving them an Ip on their network?
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  3. #3
    StOrM™
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,003
    It's the NAT componenet of the VMware workstation which is giving the issue.. Last time it was my firewall.. I had blocked protocol's..

    This time it's weird since firewall configuration is the same.. It could be Microsoft Virtual Machine .. Also my VMware NAT service goes to BLOCKED automatically.. :|

    Working on it.. Lets see ..
    Parth Maniar,
    CISSP, CISM, CISA, SSCP

    *Thank you GOD*

    Greater the Difficulty, SWEETER the Victory.

    Believe in yourself.

  4. #4
    StOrM™
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,003
    Alright I got it solved.. i uninstalled VMware then microsoft virtual machine and re-installed vmware.. I was done .. :|
    Parth Maniar,
    CISSP, CISM, CISA, SSCP

    *Thank you GOD*

    Greater the Difficulty, SWEETER the Victory.

    Believe in yourself.

Similar Threads

  1. VMware security advisories
    By t34b4g5 in forum Security News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 3rd, 2008, 02:03 PM
  2. VMware to develop Secure Systems for NSA
    By MrLinus in forum Security News
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: August 30th, 2007, 06:06 PM
  3. Read Me First
    By Negative in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: June 2nd, 2004, 02:09 AM
  4. Spam problem
    By FamStars&Straps in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 12th, 2003, 06:33 AM
  5. C problem...
    By Rna in forum General Programming Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 22nd, 2002, 08:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •