Firefox 4
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Firefox 4

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Yes
    Posts
    4,429

    Firefox 4

    OK, not really - but pretty close. After Mozilla released some mockups of what FF 4 might look like, someone felt compelled to try and mimic the look and feel of it. Here's a screenshot of my setup with a customized Aero theme - http://s755.photobucket.com/albums/x...urrent=ff4.png

    Here are the instructions:
    http://spewboy.deviantart.com/art/St...v0-2-132191373 (via LifeHacker).

  2. #2
    Senior Member t34b4g5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Australia.
    Posts
    2,391
    I did it out of curiosity.

    WinXP
    http://xs942.xs.to/xs942/09331/ff4klone792.jpg

    I couldn't be bothered finding and installing a xp theme so that it looks half decent.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    239
    Looks kind of cool. I might give that a whirl.

  4. #4
    StOrM™
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,003
    Opera RULES !


    Parth Maniar,
    CISSP, CISM, CISA, SSCP

    *Thank you GOD*

    Greater the Difficulty, SWEETER the Victory.

    Believe in yourself.

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    677
    Couple of powerusing Firefox hints

    1. If you have firefox 3.5 or 4 thats works ok but links do no open up in Thunderbird, add this to the /usr/bin/firefox script(linux):

    unset LD_PRELOAD

    2. Adobe Flash: If you view Youtube full-screen videos or any full-screen video using this java plugin and it crashes the browser cold, disable hardware acceleration in flash settings. Those idiots thinks everyone has a $500 videocard installed.

    I mentioned this because someone on this board figured 3.5 is buggier than 3.0.x
    Last edited by Linen0ise; August 12th, 2009 at 09:24 PM.

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    605
    Four... at this point they're in a race to get the highest number of revisions.

    When most other browsers have been around since the mid-90s and haven't even hit a "version ten" mark yet.

  7. #7
    AO BOFH: Luser Abuser BModeratorFH gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    Quote Originally Posted by The-Spec View Post
    Four... at this point they're in a race to get the highest number of revisions.

    When most other browsers have been around since the mid-90s and haven't even hit a "version ten" mark yet.
    Maybe they're taking a play from RedHat? Remember when Slackware went from 4 to 7? It was because other versions would release like 1.0 then 1.2 and then 2.0 and so on where most would do like 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 and so on instead.
    Kill the lights, let the candles burn behind the pumpkins’ mischievous grins, and let the skeletons dance. For one thing is certain, The Misfits have returned and once again everyday is Halloween.The Misfits FreeBSD
    Cannibal Holocaust
    SuSE Linux
    Slackware Linux

  8. #8
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    DOS was rather like that as well? Also, what about Windows NT4............ that went to Service Pack 6.1a

    These notation systems are not consistent, and I can see open source as being different. After all it looks better on your CV/Resume to say 4 rather than 3.5.3?
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  9. #9
    AO BOFH: Luser Abuser BModeratorFH gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    I don't think I'd put 3.5.3 on a Resume. I do think after some point they need to up a version number, as "sofware package 1.3.2.3.4.2.1.2A" is a waste of space, and I've probably got some form of software or another where it has multiple numbers. Just not printed ones. I can't imagine any company trying to sell software on a shelf somewhere wanting to print a box that has what looks to be a phone number on it as a version numbering system.
    Kill the lights, let the candles burn behind the pumpkins’ mischievous grins, and let the skeletons dance. For one thing is certain, The Misfits have returned and once again everyday is Halloween.The Misfits FreeBSD
    Cannibal Holocaust
    SuSE Linux
    Slackware Linux

  10. #10
    AntiOnline Senior Member souleman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Flint, MI
    Posts
    2,884
    3.5.4 should be out October 21.

    It looks like they are going to go with 3.6 next instead of 4.0 though. though that can still change. 3.6 alpha was released last month.

    They need to finish up fennec though. I can't even get it to start up on a q9c.
    \"Ignorance is bliss....
    but only for your enemy\"
    -- souleman

Similar Threads

  1. Firefox Secrets
    By scratchONtheBOX in forum Tips and Tricks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 5th, 2005, 06:14 PM
  2. Firefox, Others at Phishing Risk
    By Black Cluster in forum Phishing and Cyber Scams
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: February 24th, 2005, 07:00 AM
  3. Replies: 13
    Last Post: February 9th, 2005, 08:32 PM
  4. Mozilla Firefox vs IE
    By neosamurai in forum General Computer Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: December 8th, 2004, 11:47 PM
  5. Why I don't recommend Firefox
    By SDK in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: September 9th, 2004, 08:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •