Browser wars again - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21

Thread: Browser wars again

  1. #11
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    right, neither would I, because there were no changes to my OS prior to the upgrade, and that's when the performance went south.

  2. #12
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    I think they will multiple browsers to be isntalled alongside I.E like with Nix ...
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  3. #13
    Senior Member t34b4g5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Australia.
    Posts
    2,391
    So i'm like the only 1 who does use Adob'e software on my Window boxe's??

    I suddenly feel like i've stepped infront of the firing squad

  4. #14
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    605
    Bad for me since the first thing I do is uninstall everything except the operating system in itself.

  5. #15
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    Quote Originally Posted by t34b4g5 View Post
    So i'm like the only 1 who does use Adob'e software on my Window boxe's??

    I suddenly feel like i've stepped infront of the firing squad
    I can't recall having need for any of their software except Acrobat, and for a while I had Photoshop version 7. I can't stand programs that leave processes running after I close them. Acrobat always left acroRD32 .dll running after close, sucking up 32 meg of resource.

  6. #16
    Senior Member t34b4g5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Australia.
    Posts
    2,391
    Quote Originally Posted by JPnyc View Post
    Acrobat always left acroRD32 .dll running after close, sucking up 32 meg of resource.
    Greetz.

    32mb might of been a big amount a few years back, but this day in age what with the amount of ram you can put in, hard drive sizes etc 32mb is a pittance to be worried about.

    I guess i just never liked the look or feel of Foxit reader.

    i use image ready, and photoshop on a regular basis, i haven't been able to find anything equivilant that suite's my needs. But they are installed on another machine that is used for Graphic related stuff.

    For some odd reason Gimp seems to lock up my windows machine.. I got over having to the puter everytime it happened.

  7. #17
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Well , we are an adobe reseller as well and I am the only one who doesnt use any adobe software on my machine.

    Trying to install master collection will take about the whole day to install.

    The programs are cool for the marketing guys but yeah , memory hog of note :P
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  8. #18
    Junior Member HackGenie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    5
    much ado about nothing
    The HackShooter

  9. #19
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    HuH?

    Did you lose half your keyboard?
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  10. #20
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    Quote Originally Posted by t34b4g5 View Post
    Greetz.

    32mb might of been a big amount a few years back, but this day in age what with the amount of ram you can put in, hard drive sizes etc 32mb is a pittance to be worried about.

    I guess i just never liked the look or feel of Foxit reader.

    i use image ready, and photoshop on a regular basis, i haven't been able to find anything equivilant that suite's my needs. But they are installed on another machine that is used for Graphic related stuff.

    For some odd reason Gimp seems to lock up my windows machine.. I got over having to the puter everytime it happened.
    I'm not really a graphics guy, I have little more than a journeyman's knowledge of Photoshop or paint shop Pro. It's not a question of how much resource, it's just the idea of unnecessary processes running that I don't like. Like driving a car with the emergency brake on.

Similar Threads

  1. Security Hots Up The Browser Wars
    By nihil in forum Security News
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 10th, 2008, 06:22 PM
  2. Opera announces Voice Oper. Browser
    By mikem0327 in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 24th, 2004, 03:36 AM
  3. Multiple browser timed document.write cross domain policy vulnerability
    By Szafran in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: September 7th, 2003, 09:41 PM
  4. the anonymity tutorial
    By hot_guy in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: August 2nd, 2003, 02:18 PM
  5. 2002 * Linux Web Browser Review
    By E5C4P3 in forum Product / Book / Training / Conference Reviews
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 3rd, 2002, 02:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •