Hardware check
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Hardware check

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683

    Hardware check

    Hey Guys,

    Ive suddenly noticed my computer is hanging when doing certain things (opening up any folder etc) , Simple things really.

    Something tellms me some hardware is going, probaly my Graphic card. I have a 3870 on an ASUS p5E with quad core 2.4ghz.

    Does anyone recommend a tool that can scan my hardware and let me know if there is anything I should be worried about.

    I know I can use specific programs for HDD etc but looking for a through scan for teh whole system.

    Running windows 7 ultimate x64.

    Thanks
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  2. #2
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    Does anyone recommend a tool that can scan my hardware and let me know if there is anything I should be worried about.
    Nope, there ain't no such animal, and anything that says otherwise is snake oil pure and simple

    I find the idea of the video card being at fault a little difficult to take onboard as just opening folders and stuff isn't really video intensive?

    I would just go for the standard memory and HDD tests to start with, also...........have you recently upgraded your BIOS?

    My next move would be to disconnect from the internet and turn off all AV and anti-malware products (I no u run norten an won't admit it )

    Seriously, what you are describing sounds more like a software conflict of some sort. Your kit seems a bit too modern...............take a look at what is running and what is taking the resource.............a hang is frequently 100% CPU usage?
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  3. #3
    Senior Member t34b4g5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Australia.
    Posts
    2,391
    Greetz.

    If you don't already have it download Process monitor and keep it open and do whatever your doing to make the system hang and see what is causing the cpu to spike so hard to make the system just give up and stop working.

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/s.../bb896645.aspx

  4. #4
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    I would just go for the standard memory and HDD tests to start with, also...........have you recently upgraded your BIOS?
    Very late reply.

    Oh yes I have updated my bios ... hmmm, thought it was a good idea ... Should I flash it?
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Quote Originally Posted by Cider View Post
    Very late reply.

    Oh yes I have updated my bios ... hmmm, thought it was a good idea ... Should I flash it?
    Last time a computer guy flashed something..I think he ended up in jail..lol
    =

  6. #6
    Keeping The Balance CybertecOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    659
    I have noticed an issue of explorer hanging when opening documents, shortcuts etc.... it just hangs and then after a period of time it continues as expected. I have not noticed anything in task manager and the CPU is not under load.

    [edit] I forgot to mention that I have noticed this problem on about 5 different workstations and laptops, all for different clients and all having different levels of patching/SP updates[/edit]

    What intrigues me is that if you disconnect the network cable, and possible also disconnect any mapped drives - in all cases, the issue goes away.

    I have had no luck in resolving this problem except reformatting and reinstalling. I'd like to know if the problem goes away if your PC is disconnected.... btw, it was XP in all cases if memory serves.


    CTO
    "Any intelligent fool can make things bigger and more complex... It takes a touch of genius --- and a lot of courage to move in the opposite direction."
    - Albert Einstein

  7. #7
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Well when I am connected to the domain / network here at work my PC (XP here) hangs like no other but without the cable its good.

    I have no idea.

    I discourage the use of mapped drives as most Virii does it spreading through that mechanism once on the network.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  8. #8
    Keeping The Balance CybertecOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    659
    Well when I am connected to the domain / network here at work my PC (XP here) hangs like no other but without the cable its good.
    Sounds like this mysterious issue that I have seen over the years - it has no cause and no known resolution. It MIGHT be the IP Stack and it MIGHT be the mapped shares and printers..... it MIGHT be a corrupted windows service - nothing I have ever tried has fixed this issue.

    Ultimately, the re-install seems to fix the problem but even after all software is loaded identically - the issue does not re-appear.

    ----- After typing this post, a thought occured to me. What if the problem is not local - it is on the domain. Maybe the AD computer account has become corrupted and hence each time a network request is made, there is a huge delay in authenticating the machine.

    Each time a reformat occurs, the AD computer account is almost always deleted and the rebuilt OS joined the old fashioned way. (I dont usually dick around with 'resetting' the computer account unless there is some major security/group policy going on).

    Maybe, try deleting the domain computer account, and rejoin the domain... see if this fixes the issue I would be excited to know if it does.


    CTO
    "Any intelligent fool can make things bigger and more complex... It takes a touch of genius --- and a lot of courage to move in the opposite direction."
    - Albert Einstein

  9. #9
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Well I jsut upgraded to Windows 7 Enterprise and its flying!
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

Similar Threads

  1. Buying used NICs
    By Oso in forum Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 8th, 2005, 05:54 PM
  2. software vs hardware
    By M3mph15 in forum Firewall & Honeypot Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 10th, 2004, 07:52 AM
  3. TCPA - build your own hardware
    By Negative in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: March 9th, 2003, 07:37 PM
  4. Leverage older hardware and break the hardware/software upgrade cycle
    By micael in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 14th, 2002, 12:58 PM
  5. Unknown device (hardware question)
    By ele5125 in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: August 28th, 2002, 06:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides