netBT Problem
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: netBT Problem

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    199

    netBT Problem

    When i try to run the program nbtstat from the dos command line in windows xp i get the following message ... "Failed to access NetBT driver -- NetBT may not be loaded" ... I've gone into the registry and set it to run automatically, and restarted, but it just stays the same.

    Any help would be great.
    Thanks in advance.
    -

  2. #2
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,324
    You may not have rights to it? At school, we can't run it under limited accounts. Whether they have disabled it or not... I'm not sure. I'm assuming that you've done some searching a bit?

    http://www.techspot.com/vb/showthread.php?threadid=9007

    Or, m$'s knowledgebase

    err... what OS are you using?

    You didn't mention what else you've tried... so there are a couple of things to try out.
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    199
    Home PC running Windows XP (admin)
    Tried setting the registry to auto start netBT ... that is all so far
    Any ideas ?
    -

  4. #4
    Senior Member Wazz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    288
    Go to start and run. Type services.msc. Make sure the TCP/IP NetBIOS helper service is enabled and started. Hope this helps.
    "It is a shame that stupidity is not painful" - Anton LaVey

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    199
    Thanks .... tried that, but it was already on ... still no luck ... anymore ideas ?
    -

  6. #6
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    Have you disabled any services?
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    199
    that services that i have disabled are : -

    • Background Intelligent Transfer Service
      ClipBook
      Human Interface Device Access
      Indexing Service
      Messenger
      NetMeeting Remote Desktop Sharing
      PC-clillin Personal Firewall
      Protected Storage
      Remote Desktop Help Session Manager
      Remote Registry
      Routing and Remove Access
      SSDP Discovery Servce
      Telnet
      Universal Plub and Play Device Host
    -

  8. #8
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    Going to sound weird but try to enable Messenger and see if it works then.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    199
    Tried that ... no luck
    -

  10. #10
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    I think I might have a Bingo from Microsoft Knowledge Base..
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •