Windows 7 issue
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Windows 7 issue

  1. #1
    Senior Member kingkong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UAE
    Posts
    197

    Windows 7 issue

    Hi AO's

    How are you guyz doing, The last people i would rely would be you AO's

    I purchased a new Laptop which has Windows 7 Home Basic OS.

    the Windows(button) + Tab Effect does not seems to be function.. Do you guyz have any idea whether i shut it off in some manner because i am a new user to Windows 7


    Please guyz help me out though this

    Regards
    KK
    Question is not "Why are you Online"
    Question is "Why are you Off line"

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    66
    How are you guyz doing, The last people i would rely would be you AO's
    wait are you insulting AO's and then asking us for help? Or am i just reading this wrong?

  3. #3
    Hey Kingkong -

    Can you make sure Desktop Windows Manager Session manager Service is running. it should fix the issue.
    one of the great day in my life when i found antionline.com

  4. #4
    Senior Member kingkong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UAE
    Posts
    197
    wait are you insulting AO's and then asking us for help? Or am i just reading this wrong?
    @ Phalse i dont know which part you felt insulting

    Hey prince i tried to check whether or not DWMSMS is working or not but i guess its not and how am i suppose to fix it?
    Question is not "Why are you Online"
    Question is "Why are you Off line"

  5. #5
    rebmeM roineS enilnOitnA steve.milner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,018
    Hi Kingkong

    The last people i would rely would be you AO'
    This is the bit, but I guess it's just a cultural/language barrier.

    It suggests we would not be a good choice to ask for advice - in fact it suggests we would be your last choice, suggesting our advice is worthless.

    Regards,
    Steve
    IT, e-commerce, Retail, Programme & Project Management, EPoS, Supply Chain and Logistic Services. Yorkshire. http://www.bigi.uk.com

  6. #6
    select startup type Automatic.... and start the service if not running.
    one of the great day in my life when i found antionline.com

  7. #7
    Gonzo District BOFH westin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    SW MO
    Posts
    1,188
    Does the basic version have Aero support? It seems like the basic version of Vista didn't...

    Looks like someone has made a tool to enable it though:

    http://www.addictivetips.com/windows...-7-home-basic/
    \"Those of us that had been up all night were in no mood for coffee and donuts, we wanted strong drink.\"

    -HST

  8. #8
    Senior Member kingkong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UAE
    Posts
    197
    Aero support is not getting enabled in my Laptop....


    and i wanted to change some group policy in my laptop and i found other wierd thing gpedit.msc is not there instead i found only gpedit.dll in my windows/system32 folder..

    does any one have a idea how can i edit group policy and excess it ...
    Question is not "Why are you Online"
    Question is "Why are you Off line"

  9. #9
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi there KK,

    Long time no talk?

    I understood you when you said that AO was your "last hope"................English is a very funny language isn't it

    Can you tell us a bit more about your new machine, as this may be important. You say that it is a laptop, so you didn't build it yourself; and OEMs all do things their own different ways The make and model would help.

    Right now, I cannot help too much as I only have 7 running on a hastily assembled tower machine.....................however, come later on today (Icelandic volcanoes permitting) my wife will return with my new craptop, which should have 7 on it, so I can experiment for you.

    Talk to you later,

    Cheers,

    Johnno

  10. #10
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi KK,

    My understanding is that Win 7 Home Basic does not support Aero out of the box.I suspect that the Windows + Tab effect needs Aero. It certainly works on my new laptop, but that boots Home Premium, so supports Aero.

    i found other weird thing gpedit.msc is not there instead i found only gpedit.dll in my windows/system32 folder..
    Same here, and in the 64Bit folder. It is now called gpupdate I believe as that is an application and I have it in both 32 and 64 bit folders.

    @westin, I wonder if that works if you only have a cut down OEM's version of Windows, rather than the full blown thing from a CD? I believe that the CD contains all versions but only activates the one you have a licence for.

    I would guess that OEMs shipping kit that only supports Home Basic will have removed the others?

Similar Threads

  1. Windows 7 XP Mode
    By nihil in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 30th, 2009, 04:12 AM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: October 5th, 2004, 09:26 AM
  3. Operating System Selection
    By TheFiend in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: June 15th, 2003, 12:08 AM
  4. MS 1st critical update of 2003
    By qwerty_smith in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: February 5th, 2003, 09:41 PM
  5. OS History and other info.
    By Remote_Access_ in forum Security Archives
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: January 12th, 2002, 03:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •