Trunking a port.
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Trunking a port.

  1. #1
    StOrM™
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,003

    Trunking a port.

    I am not sure if the title of the thread is correct. Anyway the problem is we have a new project where a single printer has to be available to multiple VLAN's. While the CCIE's (or wannabe's looking at their failure level) are trying their best, I am the one suffering since I am the project lead.



    Here is the scenario:
    We currently have multiple printers, one for each VLAN but now we'll be getting a single (canon) network (plus USB) based printer that will be taking over entire office for printing (We need to have this implemented in 250+ offices across the country). This way we'll be getting rid of multiple printers and adding just one (donít ask who's idea it is. I am from the IT team. We are here to read lead not read [Something on those line's ])

    How do I add one port (which will be used by the printer) for multiple VLAN's? We use Passport 1424T switches. It's important to keep in mind that I need this to be done on a switch and not using a router.


    Thanks in advance.
    Parth Maniar,
    CISSP, CISM, CISA, SSCP

    *Thank you GOD*

    Greater the Difficulty, SWEETER the Victory.

    Believe in yourself.

  2. #2
    StOrM™
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,003
    Oh common.. NO ONE !
    Parth Maniar,
    CISSP, CISM, CISA, SSCP

    *Thank you GOD*

    Greater the Difficulty, SWEETER the Victory.

    Believe in yourself.

  3. #3
    HYBR|D
    Guest
    It's kind of confusing me why you insist on starting tech questions in GCC when it doesn't appear on the front page? so people will only see it if they cruise down into general discussion area.

    start your thread in a better suited catogory and i'm sure you will get your answer.

  4. #4
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Moved from General Chit Chat

  5. #5
    StOrM™
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,003
    Sorry Hybrid. I didn't read the General Computer Discussions forum description.
    Parth Maniar,
    CISSP, CISM, CISA, SSCP

    *Thank you GOD*

    Greater the Difficulty, SWEETER the Victory.

    Believe in yourself.

  6. #6
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi there ByTe,

    Point is that this forum gets on the front page where more people are likely to see it

Similar Threads

  1. Port List
    By ThePreacher in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: December 14th, 2006, 09:37 PM
  2. Help with Trojans!!!
    By Jubei_Yagyu_14 in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: February 19th, 2004, 08:42 PM
  3. ports
    By hatebreed2000 in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 14th, 2003, 06:36 AM
  4. My firewall block this attempt.. but need info
    By LordChaos in forum Firewall & Honeypot Discussions
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: October 4th, 2002, 12:58 PM
  5. Port list
    By Badassatchu in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: March 23rd, 2002, 03:18 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •