Debian Etch VMware fusion
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Debian Etch VMware fusion

  1. #1
    Senior Member bAgZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    206

    Debian Etch VMware fusion

    I am trying to install Debian etch in my VMware fusion. I already have debian running but now want to install etch to test the upgrade to Lenny. Problem is every time i chose what to install and actual install starts it hangs at 5% no errors just stays there forever.

    Has anyone seen this before? Any ideas? I googled this forever but no answers...
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "If I'd asked my customers what they wanted, they'd have said a faster horse." ~ Henry Ford

  2. #2
    HYBR|D
    Guest
    Hey bagZ, were you been buddy??

    Anyhow, interesting error. If possible could you divulge more info on your boxen setup?

    also why not just install "Lenny" instead of messing around with an upgrade after an -initial vanilla install?

  3. #3
    Senior Member bAgZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Posts
    206
    Been working a lot so no time to roam the forums too much

    Currently running VMware fusion on my Macbook pro nothing out of the ordinary 4GB RAM 200GB hard drive 2.8ghz core duo. Default setup same as Lenny-amd64 which i already have and that was just so easy... Now i have a few old boxes that i would like to upgrade to Lenny but would like to test my upgrade procedure first .

    Anyway what i did in the meantime i downloaded Virtual Box installed Etch in there got to the part where it asked to use network mirror and i pointed it to a bad mirror then i get an option to go back a step in my setup and then i am presented with a whole lot of options. One of them is to install GRUB and move on which i did and somehow miracle happened installation completed
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    "If I'd asked my customers what they wanted, they'd have said a faster horse." ~ Henry Ford

  4. #4
    Senior Member SnugglesTheBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    133
    What I think was going on is that the partition tables scheme for Macs, GPT, are different than what PCs and linux use, MBR. GRUB probably gave your VMWare something compatible to boot debian on.

Similar Threads

  1. Dual booting Debian and Windows
    By gore in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: March 22nd, 2009, 01:09 AM
  2. Many connections from 127.0.0.1
    By nancy in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: December 11th, 2008, 08:39 AM
  3. VMware to develop Secure Systems for NSA
    By MrLinus in forum Security News
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: August 30th, 2007, 06:06 PM
  4. Run your OS of choice on VMware Player
    By J_K9 in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 19th, 2005, 11:55 AM
  5. Vulnerability: Debian IN.UUCP Remote Buffer Overflow
    By s0nIc in forum *nix Security Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 6th, 2002, 06:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •