Making IIS Sites available thru Internet
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Making IIS Sites available thru Internet

  1. #1
    Senior Member codenamevirus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Faridabad, Haryana, India

    Question Making IIS Sites available thru Internet


    I have a DSL connection installed in my office. I have a LAN network and I have a requirement of making the sites published on IIS on one of the machines available thru internet. I'll explain the setup below:

    1. I have a DSL Modem from my ISP Provider (Airtel, India) - the provider has given me an static IP address, its something like and assigned it to this modem.

    2. I have a Netgear Router which connect to this DSL Modem via LAN cable. It is this router to which all my machines in the network connect either thru LAN cables or thru Wireless. This router manages its own IP addresses from the range - (where is the address of the router itself).

    3. I have a Windows Server 2008 R2 machine, which is also the Active Directory and the DNS server of the company. The IP Address configuration of this machine has been hard-coded to:

    IP Address:
    Subnet Mask:
    Default Gateway:

    Primary DNS:
    Secondary DNS: blank
    All the machines in the network also have hard-coded IPs and there setting are as follows:

    IP Address: - (except
    Subnet Mask:
    Default Gateway:

    Primary DNS:
    Secondary DNS: blank
    In the AD machine I have IIS installed and it has multiple sites published on it. All these sites are available in the network thru the IP (the IP of the AD machine). Now, I wish to make the same websites available online and I think I can use the Static IP provided to me for the purpose.

    Can you please help regarding this matter. What steps I should take to make this possible?


  2. #2
    Senior Member SnugglesTheBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Are you trying to get a domain name i.e. you want to go to a browser and type in something like and it resolve to one of your sites? If so you will need to register the domain name to your static IP.

    But that doesn't really matter since you can connect to your modem given its static IP. Make sure your router is not blocking all incoming connections and forward a port to the IIS. That way all connections that go into your modem requesting a certain port gets forwarded to the IIS since you are behind a NAT. I do suggest though that you read through some IIS manuals so you have a good idea on what is going on and can properly configure it.

Similar Threads

  1. Basic Internet Security Tutorial
    By xierox in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: January 6th, 2005, 07:24 PM
  2. Unexpected twists in Internet law
    By Dr_Evil in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: December 23rd, 2003, 01:14 PM
  3. Top 10 Internet Scams of the Year.
    By Ennis in forum Non-Security Archives
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: December 12th, 2001, 10:31 AM
  4. Denail Of Service FAQ
    By Ennis in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: November 15th, 2001, 06:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts