Strange network issue
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Strange network issue

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    422

    Strange network issue

    I've been having issues recently with my internal network, and I'll attempt to give as much information as possible. The issue is my internet connection (roughly); I continue to lose the ability to load webpages, but its seemingly random, as the connection will come back with time. I'm using windows XP currently, and the adapter says connected, although sometimes pages online will not load. The strange thing is, I have another computer connected to the same switch (connected to the same router), and the other computer works just fine. Which would normally lead me to believe that it is the computer that is to blame, but I have another computer running linux that is connected directly to the router that seems to work intermittently, but has issues (seemingly) at the same time as my XP machine. Now it could just be coincidental, but I can't seem to come to any specific conclusion as to why it is occurring. Another strange issue is when I try doing the repair connection on the XP machine it fails at clearing the DNS cache. This made me try using IP addresses instead of domain names, which did not work either. I simply cannot figure out what is causing this.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    422
    It seems like it could be an issue with the DNS client service, which I needed to restart. But that doesn't necessarily solve the problem, as for some reason the service is having issues starting and stopping.

  3. #3
    Senior Member wiskic10_4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Posts
    254
    Wired or wireless?

    When you have connection issues, what happens if you release and then renew the IP on either machine? Can you ping Google from either machine?
    My Corner of the Intarwebz: Jeremy Dean Online

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    422
    It seems as though I can ping google, but pages will not load. All my computers are wired. Releasing and renewing seems like it might be doing something, as usually google's home page will load after the connection is reestablished, but then not much will work after that. But actually, instead of renewing the IP I've been disabling and re-enabling the device, as I believe that does renew the IP.

  5. #5
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    ipconfig /flushdns

    Try that on the xp machine.

    Also maybe try and lower the MTU settings on the router

    http://www.butterscotch.com/tutorial...e-MTU-Settings

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  6. #6
    Dissident 4dm1n brokencrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Shawnee country
    Posts
    1,242
    Try an alternative DNS server. Level3 has public DNS servers at:

    4.2.2.1
    4.2.2.2

    Google's are at:

    8.8.8.8
    8.8.4.4

    OpenDNS:

    208.67.222.222
    208.67.220.220

    Any of those should be reliable.
    “Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.” — Will Rogers

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    422
    I flushed the DNS, lowered the MTU to 1000 from 1500, and set my DNS servers to OpenDNS, and I am still having the same issue. Any other ideas?

  8. #8
    Dissident 4dm1n brokencrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Shawnee country
    Posts
    1,242
    Hardware? Got an extra NIC around?

    Could it be an ISP issue? Are you dropping packets?

    I often run continuous pings against www.yahoo.com, sometimes for
    days at a time, to gauge packet loss. You could run a continuous ping
    against www.google.com too.

    Trying to gauge packet loss is one of the first things I do on a troubled
    network

    ping -t www.yahoo.com
    “Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.” — Will Rogers

  9. #9
    Dissident 4dm1n brokencrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Shawnee country
    Posts
    1,242
    Also, what are you running for a gateway? I've had recent problems on a
    free wifi network I admin when I set udp filtering a little too low and the users
    were unable to connect to a DNS server. Oops.
    “Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.” — Will Rogers

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    422
    I'm using a netgear FVS318 as my router. I haven't pinged google for long periods of time, but every time I had issues with pages loading I got 0% packet loss (with only 4 pings, as thats the default in xp), but I will try a continual ping and get back to you.

Similar Threads

  1. Secure your wireless network
    By DeadAddict in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: July 21st, 2008, 12:16 AM
  2. Windows 2000 Tips
    By Nokia in forum Tips and Tricks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 12th, 2004, 05:13 PM
  3. Tcp/ip
    By gore in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: December 29th, 2003, 07:01 AM
  4. ports
    By hatebreed2000 in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 14th, 2003, 05:36 AM
  5. Information assurance!!!!
    By Vertex in forum Programming Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 7th, 2003, 07:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides