ctrl+windows logo+arrows in Vista
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: ctrl+windows logo+arrows in Vista

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    152

    ctrl+windows logo+arrows in Vista

    So as you guys know, these combinations resize the windows in Win 7.

    ctrl+win+up.......puts the window in upper HALF of the screen
    ctrl+win+down.......puts the window in lower HALF of the screen
    ctrl+win+right.......puts the window in right HALF of the screen
    ctrl+win+left.......puts the window in left HALF of the screen

    which is an awesome handy hotkey. So I'm wondering if there is anyway I can make such a thing in my Vista....

    Please let me know what you think....
    Last edited by boyboy400; April 17th, 2011 at 07:38 PM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi, I will have a look.

    I moved this post from general chit chat to operating systems, as it is technical, and it will now appear on the front page

    EDIT:

    This appears to be a new feature introduced with Windows 7. I don't know if you could set up hotkeys in Vista?
    Last edited by nihil; April 18th, 2011 at 06:25 AM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    168
    Those shortcuts are dependent on the new "snap" feature in win 7 and since snap is not part of windows vista they wont work.

    You can add the functionality with a new window manager, or using a addon product such as window space
    http://www.ntwind.com/software/windowspace.html
    <chsh> I've read more interesting technical discussion on the wall of a public bathroom than I have at AO at times

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    152
    I found a way around it. The software Splitview does the job for free just try it and play around with the options...it's so good

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    3
    Do you guys think anyone will go for some other software for just some basic functionalities? No one would like to use some additional software just for some thing that Windows can't do.

  6. #6
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    I found a way around it. The software Splitview does the job for free
    Please post a link...........I cannot see a free version.

    Do you guys think anyone will go for some other software for just some basic functionalities? No one would like to use some additional software just for some thing that Windows can't do.
    Well, many of us have been doing just that since Windows 3.x

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    152
    Quote Originally Posted by nihil View Post
    Please post a link...........I cannot see a free version.
    Oops, such a fail I'm sorry I thought it'd work for good you right Nihil it only gave me a 30 days trial version

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    152
    Quote Originally Posted by nihil View Post
    Please post a link...........I cannot see a free version.
    I just found something more awesome and FREE

    You guys should definitely give it a try:

    http://jgpaiva.dcmembers.com/gridmove.html

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    422
    Interesting. I have windows 7 and other than that I only use linux. I'm kind of curious as to how a program like this works. I haven't done too much windows API programming, and I'm assuming it has a lot of that involved.

  10. #10
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    Quote Originally Posted by boyboy400 View Post
    So I'm wondering if there is anyway I can make such a thing in my Vista....

    Please let me know what you think....
    ewwww Vista
    format C:

    why would you want to add more fluff to an overstretched OS

    7 has plenty of other little tricks going on
    got a few open windows in view
    grab the one you want and 'shake' it
    the others get minimised

    but it is just fluff
    fun, but ultimately, of no real purpose
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

Similar Threads

  1. Windows 7 XP Mode
    By nihil in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 30th, 2009, 04:12 AM
  2. Wait a minute... HOW many versions of Vista?
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: March 1st, 2006, 04:40 PM
  3. Using Vim basics
    By gore in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: March 28th, 2005, 08:38 AM
  4. Some Keyboard shortcuts for Windows
    By amaze in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: March 18th, 2005, 05:35 PM
  5. Securing Windows 2000 and IIS
    By spools.exe in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: September 15th, 2003, 10:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •