Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mysterious user account

Hybrid View

Mysterious user account

Hi,

I was updating a Windows XP SP3 box and happened to notice that I had a new user account in documents and settings, called "UpdatusUser".

It had shortcuts to Windows remote assistance and LG updater. The LG item is the DVD drive in this box.

I looked at user accounts in control panel and the account wasn't displayed there.

A bit of investigation revealed that it must have happened when I updated the nVidia management software and drivers for the GeForce 8400GS video card. I allowed the updater utility to be installed, as there was no warning that it would create a system account.

Apparently it will do the same thing in Vista and Windows 7.

I am no expert at malware authorship but it did occur to me that this could be a potential exploit vector?

I uninstalled the nVidia updater utility and noticed that this does not get rid of the phantom account.

I am still trying to figure out the LG DVD drive bit though, as I can't quite see the connection?

The driver was 270.61

See this link, at the bottom of the page:

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/si...IGR-76476.html

Here is the relevant content:

After the correctly installed Nvidia Optimus video driver, there will be a new account added to the system. The account is a System Service account that is used by the Nvidia Daemon update service to update the optimus profiles. The account will allow for the automatic download and installation of application profiles that the Optimus technology will use.

The account can be removed by changing it to use Local System, Set to Manual and then delete the UpdatusUser user account and folder.

It's a part of the Optimus video technology from NVidia....the article happens to be a reference from a Lenovo Page but the information applies to all installs of the Optimus Package.
    Last edited by Wazz; May 6th, 2011 at 07:44 PM.