Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Dual boot video problems

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    422

    Dual boot video problems

    Hey guys, I've been having a problem for a while, but usually I don't think to ask for help with an issue unless it actually becomes either really annoying or is something I just can't get around. In this case it's really mostly a matter of being too lazy to look for a fix because its not really that big of an issue. Anyways, I'm rambling before I even start on topic
    My issue is with a laptop with a dual boot of Windows 7 and Ubuntu. Every time I boot into Ubuntu, then reboot into windows, the resolution is that default low resolution in which you can't really do anything productive. It's almost like linux changed settings in some rom on the video card or mobo or something because its not like linux is writing to anywhere on the ntfs partition afaik. When this happens I usually just reboot, because when I log in it doesn't recognize any higher resolutions as options. I think the mouse pad may not work as well in this situation, but I can't remember, as I usually just reboot. Its a pretty strange problem, but not really much more than an annoyance, as I usually have been sticking to windows 7 on my laptop because of most engineering software and whatnot.

  2. #2
    Administrator Steve R Jones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    314
    Food for thought: After finishing with Ubuntu-> Shut down the pc... Then start it back up.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    422
    I'm assuming you mean as opposed to using restart? Would that make a difference?

  4. #4
    Senior Member gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    I used to have this problem a LONG time ago with other Operating Systems. I Honestly don't even remember how the hell I fixed it, but I think you can check the video settings on both Operating Systems, and make sure everything is right, and most likely you'll find out that one of them is using a different resolution than the other, causing this

  5. #5
    HYBR|D
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by metguru View Post
    I'm assuming you mean as opposed to using restart? Would that make a difference?
    No..

    (^ Steve R jones, why the sudden interest in AO? )

    I had a similar issue happening when i was dual -booting kubuntux64 with win7x64

    when ever i would leave 1 OS and straight boot into the other it would always have something playing up.

    Note down the different Graphics settings under each OS, including screen resolution and output mghz etc.

    what Specs/Brand is this laptop?

    What brand & Specs are on this laptop?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    744
    As a last resort you could force the resolution using the .inf file for the monitor...

    Win7 is a bit buggy, as a result of trying to be more secure. Depending on the programs you have installed, and the compatibility mode it's settings are under could cause this. Tediously, you could right click every program you have, check it's settings and resolution, prolly find the problem there, good luck.
    Every now and then, one of you won't annoy me.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    422
    Both operating systems are 1600x900. Its an HP Pavilion dv7. I also checked the refresh rate. Both are at 60Hz. Is there anything else to look for?
    Last edited by metguru; May 18th, 2011 at 10:14 PM.

  8. #8
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,189
    Hi,

    Both operating systems are 1600x900.
    If you have set your screen resolution to that, I am surprised that you can see anything other than all black with some kind of "unsupported" message

    16:9 is the aspect ratio for HD widescreen and 15:9 for the old widescreen.

    Your resolution should be set to 1366x768 @ 60Hz. That is the HP factory default, and the highest your kit will support. You won't be able to change the refresh rate IIRC.

    If you cold boot into Windows, does the resolution come up OK? It should do, as Windows shouldn't even know that Linux is there. The only way I can see Linux passing settings to Windows is through the boot manager???

    As a last resort you could force the resolution using the .inf file for the monitor...
    That works for desktops, but this is an HP laptop, so it should "know" what sort of monitor it has, and have the correct .inf file out of the box also, I don't think you can "force" a resolution on an HP laptop like you can with video cards............you get what HP allows, because they don't want the customer support calls

    However, it is worth looking into, as Windows may well have become confused by you loading Linux (which HP did not intend and doubtless won't support). Your ATI or nVidia manager should see the correct kit............but does Windows?.............if it doesn't, Windows usually plays safe and uses the lowest settings, which might explain what is happening

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    422
    Quote Originally Posted by nihil View Post
    16:9 is the aspect ratio for HD widescreen and 15:9 for the old widescreen
    The resolution is 1600 x 900. I know that is fairly uncommon, but I have a fairly uncommon laptop, I think. But I'm sure that both Linux and Windows are currently in 1600 x 900. Instead of the normal 17 inch monitors, with their resolution at 1366x768, mine is a 17.3 inch monitor. Maybe its supposed to be the full 1920 x 1080? But I'm sure I don't have that option in Linux, and I don't think I have that option in Windows. I have actually tried cold booting as opposed to restarting and it does make a difference. The cold boot results in Windows' normal resolution. The restart results in the bad resolution.

  10. #10
    Senior Member gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    Quote Originally Posted by metguru View Post
    I have actually tried cold booting as opposed to restarting and it does make a difference. The cold boot results in Windows' normal resolution. The restart results in the bad resolution.
    I was talking about this in my reply. I had the exact same issue but it was only when I rebooted. Do you have the actual driver for your video card installed for Linux or is it one of the no 3D basic ones?

Similar Threads

  1. Dual Boot With Two different HDD?
    By kyrios in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: March 3rd, 2005, 12:42 PM
  2. Video Cards for a Dual Boot system
    By Main_Man in forum Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: July 6th, 2004, 06:22 PM
  3. How to create a dual boot operating system for a new PC.
    By Computernerd22 in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: June 26th, 2004, 11:38 PM
  4. xp dual boot after format
    By jxrry59 in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: June 30th, 2003, 02:39 AM
  5. dual boot
    By mrlin in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: March 1st, 2002, 06:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •