Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Python

Python

Ok, through a vodka induced 'slowness' I've decided this was the proper spot for this question.
    I've started to learn PYTHON, at a very beginner stage, this is a completely self taught effort and I will be coming here alot for questions.

this is where I am:
    Complex numbers are always represented as two floating point numbers, the real and imaginary part. To extract these parts from a complex number z, use z.real and z.imag.
    >>> a=1.5+0.5j
    >>> a.real
    >>> a.imag
    and I have to admit, Im so befuddled by this that Im not even sure of my exact question
    Really what I need is a complete breakdown of this whole component, if anyone is up for it.
    the .real command (is it considered a command or something else?) and the .imag 'command'.

Any and all input is welcome here, as one's two cents might make perfect sense, and anothers
    might make just as much sense but the two together might make a
    revelation.

And WTF is meant by 'floating point numbers'?

thanx all

Blessings
    F
    "In most gardens they make the beds too soft - so that the flowers are always asleep" - Tiger Lily

.real isn't really considered a command. More of an attribute of the variable that it is used with. When typing in a.real, python (which is a scripting language) outputs the real part of the number a.

Do you have a full conceptual understanding of the imaginary number system?