Opensuse, How to remove Gnome3 replace with Gnome2?
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Opensuse, How to remove Gnome3 replace with Gnome2?

  1. #1
    HYBR|D
    Guest

    Thumbs down Opensuse, How to remove Gnome3 replace with Gnome2?

    Greetings.

    Alright i've tried to get used to this new cluster f#$K there calling Gnome3, but i simply dislike it.

    I having having a similar thought about Gnome3 as Linus Torvalds does.

    http://www.theregister.co.uk/2011/08...s_gnome_three/

    Anyhow i've spent that waay to long trying different tips on how to remove this cluster of poop but i'm not having much luck.

    anyone got some help? OpenSuse 11.4 64bit
    Last edited by HYBR|D; October 14th, 2011 at 05:31 AM.

  2. #2
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    Quote Originally Posted by HYBR|D View Post
    anyone got some help?
    MS do a very nice system now :P
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  3. #3
    HYBR|D
    Guest
    ^^ Win7 is a nice step up from XP. But i'm interested in getting this cluster f$%k Gnome3 removed and putting Gnome2 in it's place.

    i'm thinking of backing up my pr0n & other important data, then re-installing with an earlier version of Opensuse that comes with Gnome2 GUI.

    fingers crossed though that some1 may pop in with some decent help though.

  4. #4
    @ΜĮЙǐЅŦГǻţΩЯ D0pp139an93r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    1,696
    I'd login to a console session and just use Yast to remove Gnome3 and install Gnome2 from the repository.

    zypper should work as well for package management.


    Honestly, Xfce might be the best GUI bet for Linux right now. Gnome is a bloated disaster that's only going to get worse, especially with development focused on 3 now. KDE has been following and has some interesting issues with APIs and compatability.
    Real security doesn't come with an installer.

  5. #5
    Senior Member gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    Or you could like, you know, just use Enlightenment. I mean it IS the coolest looking option, and E17 is looking nicer and nicer all the time. Give that a try. And also the stuff that one guy said too. Cause that should work just fine. (The part about using YAST to uninstall it and then install Gnome2 once you find it).

  6. #6
    @ΜĮЙǐЅŦГǻţΩЯ D0pp139an93r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    1,696
    Don't get me wrong, I like Gnome2, but you have to plan for the future.
    Real security doesn't come with an installer.

  7. #7
    HYBR|D
    Guest
    ^^ But can 1 really say that Gnome3 the cluster F$#K is what users really want? can it recover from this major f$%kup?

    it's a clunky mishmash wtf am i looking at GUI, it doesn't make sense and it's now a mundaine task just to change the simplest of things.

    I'm booting up a console and i'll give that terminal suggestion a closer look as you suggested Rob.

  8. #8
    Senior Member gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    Coffee Cup:

    I've used Gnome before, and I liked it, but I have no experience in Gnome 3. I also use KDE. I'm one of those rare people who actually DOESN'T sit there thinking only one GUI is better than everything else. I use the following:

    KDE
    Gnome
    FVWM
    FVWM2
    FVWM-Crystal
    Enlightenment E16
    Enlightenment E17
    Fluxbox
    Afterstep
    WindowMaker
    LXDE
    OpenBox

    And there's probably some I'm forgetting, since I have all of those and more installed on my Laptop, which runs FreeBSD 8.2-RELEASE, and FreeBSD has a GREAT way of doing this stuff. But my point is; If you don't like Gnome3, simply uninstall it, and then, using YAST2, or, if you don't want a GUI loaded while doing it; YAST, and you can grab the Gnome2 stuff.

    You might have to rework a few things, but it's totally doable.

Similar Threads

  1. Computer Upgrade & Replacment of parts
    By Raion in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 10th, 2004, 04:20 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •