running w7 as limited
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 47

Thread: running w7 as limited

  1. #1
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683

    running w7 as limited

    Hi ,
    Going abit nuts here
    Want to run as limited user but when wanted to install software, it must prompt for admin credentials if i was to right click > run as administrator. Same for viewing and changing things on the system. It it just saying that you need local admin privledges.

    What am I doing wrong?

    This might be it, not sure. Im a domain admin but ive taken domain admins out locally of the admin group. When I right click > run as admin I will use a local admin account I created. Am I confusing things here?

    UAC slider is at the top :P
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    262
    I never found a good way to do what you want to do. I usually give users admin privileges locally and restrict them at the domain level.

  3. #3
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    thats pefect restricting them at a domain level but software installations at the PC / user level will cause issues etc.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    744
    Quote Originally Posted by Cider View Post
    thats pefect restricting them at a domain level but software installations at the PC / user level will cause issues etc.
    Rule numbah one..do not, ever allow someone to install something on YOUR box/es, evar!

    Did you hear that? Did it register? Getting it, got it, good?

    Evar.
    Every now and then, one of you won't annoy me.

  5. #5
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Issue is resolved after rebooting - seems UAC has to be on for this. I think the slider needs to be at the top or just one below.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  6. #6
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    Quote Originally Posted by Cider View Post
    Im a domain admin but ive taken domain admins out locally of the admin group.
    why do this?
    remember the mantra
    K.I.S.S.
    Keep It Simple Stupid :P

    to add, 7, even when you are logging in as an admin, will revert to a normal user status for running, only adding the admin rights when you wish to install / download etc
    this is why UAC pops up
    you say yes
    it allows it by giving your account its admin powers back

    the theory was good, but real world use does bring up the WTF fairy on occasion
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    24
    These accounts simply do not have the power to perform administrative tasks directly, and they do not have the ability to lift a single confirmation: they instead require credentials, such as a password or a card chip. This is requested through a prompt to the user.

    This is known informally as the way Over-the-shoulder (where someone can look over the shoulder of the user to type a password and a job approval)

  8. #8
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    well running as a standard user and then having to put in local admin or domain admin credentials to do anything administrative is what we are looking for isn't it?

    Running in Unix as a normal user and then running sudo or as root, same thing?
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  9. #9
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    Quote Originally Posted by Cider View Post
    well running as a standard user and then having to put in local admin or domain admin credentials to do anything administrative is what we are looking for isn't it?

    Running in Unix as a normal user and then running sudo or as root, same thing?
    isn't that the RUNAS option ?
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  10. #10
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    well it seems to be the same, when you right click > run as administrator it prompts you for credentials to install the software or whatever you are doing. You can insert any credentials you want too hence its the same as RUNAS?
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

Similar Threads

  1. suse is crap on finding cdrom
    By rajunpl in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: July 1st, 2004, 07:30 AM
  2. The history of the Mac line of Operating systems
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 7th, 2004, 07:02 AM
  3. System running like Kucinich--slow.
    By Linebacker54 in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: February 18th, 2004, 01:12 PM
  4. Opinions on running your computer 24/7 and sideways
    By CyberSpyder in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: April 16th, 2003, 04:11 PM
  5. Win2k running on XBox under Linux :)
    By powertoad5000 in forum General Computer Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 1st, 2002, 04:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides