Extended Monitor Display
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Extended Monitor Display

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    274

    Extended Monitor Display

    Hello All,

    I have desktop system (dell) with DVI port and I want to get two displays from that (extended). How would that be possible as I think I need to buy a splitter cable and have two outputs. What do you recommend.

    Thanks
    Excuse me, is there an airport nearby large enough for a private jet to land?

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    You can't just split the signal with just a cable. You'll need something like a Matrox DualHead2Go.

    http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/products/gxm/dh2go/
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    Yes, an external USB device is a neat solution because you can port it easily from one PC to another. They are also relatively inexpensive. Nice one SirDice!

    However, you did say Dell, so it might just depend on what video card you have installed?

    http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&cs=19&sku=A2829978&baynote_bnrank=0&baynote_irrank=0&~ck=baynoteSearch

    Here you have a dual monitor capable video card that uses a splitter cable to support two displays from a single outlet on the card. If you have the right card you actually might have that cable lying around somewhere as the Dell would have certainly shipped with one if it has a dual monitor supporting card of that type.

    I have just had a look at the machine next to me which has a CRT monitor and D-sub connection. The card is an NVidia Geforce 6200 (AGP), that cost 12.99 ($20) It has D-sub, DVI-I and S-Video connectors.

    The NVidia software supports dual monitors either "clone" or "extended desktop". I suspect that I would have to connect the second monitor via one of the other connectors.

    My more modern cards (PCI-E x16) all have DVI-I, HDMI and D-sub connections apart from the more "gaming" one that has 2 x DVI and 2 x HDMI. All support dual displays but I believe that it is a one display to one port relationship.

    Exactly what video solution does your Dell have? If it only has one connection, then it looks like the splitter cable shown in my link is what you want.

    Hope that helps.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    262
    A DVI port comes in single and dual flavors. If your card has a dual device connector you can use a DVI "Y" cable. My nVidia Quadro NVS card has this port and came with a "Y" cable among others. To view various DVI connectors follow the link. Either of the dual link connectors will support a "Y" cable.

    http://tinyurl.com/6rpemnr

  5. #5
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    Hey, ua549 rides again!

    I didn't know that until you posted it. It may seem surprising, but I have never ever tried dual monitors with anything other than a laptop. Sure I have used data projectors, but never with another monitor.

    I belong to the old (professional) school of college lecturers................ if I can't see it on the screen then neither can they................ a second monitor is irrelevant or worse.

    All my video cards have DVI-I and support dual monitors. This implies that the splitter cable will work?

    Hell it's close to me buying my surprise Christmas present

    And be careful................ no more good (expensive) ideas until the January sales huh?

    Cheers
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    262
    My workstation currently has dual monitors. It used to have 4. Back in the day I had Viewsonic VP2290b's with 3840 x 2400 resolution in a 22.2" LCD. The nice thing is that multiple monitors are actually a single desktop. So application windows can be placed on any monitor. The mouse moves between monitors because it is a single desktop.

    If you wish a second monitor can be a mirror of the first, but that isn't how I use mine.

    If your connectors have all of the pins populated it is a multilink and capable of supporting 2 devices.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    1
    If you're using a multiple monitor setup, there's also a software called Ultramon, which adds some extra features:

    Ultramon - http://www.realtimesoft.com/ultramon/

    a) efficiently move windows and maximize windows across the desktop
    b) manage more applications with the Smart Taskbar
    c) control application positioning with UltraMon Shortcuts
    d) multi-monitor support for desktop wallpapers and screen savers
    e) mirror your main monitor to secondary monitors for a presentation

Similar Threads

  1. Windows Error Messages
    By cheyenne1212 in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 1st, 2012, 01:51 PM
  2. MS to discontinue extended support for WinXP Home 2008
    By dalek in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: January 15th, 2006, 07:07 PM
  3. Kazaa owners given ten days to conform or die
    By Egaladeist in forum Security News
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: November 28th, 2005, 07:29 AM
  4. Extended MetaFiles Vulnerability
    By Relyt in forum AntiVirus Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 19th, 2004, 11:52 PM
  5. Extended Characters in subject line (eg: &)
    By hellbringer87 in forum Site Feedback/Questions/Suggestions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 14th, 2002, 03:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides