Is Truecrypt compatible with DeepFreeze ?
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Is Truecrypt compatible with DeepFreeze ?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    35

    Question Is Truecrypt compatible with DeepFreeze ?

    I was wondering if anyone knew if Truecrypt is compatible with Faronic's DeepFreeze Standard.

    I've been looking around the web, and so far haven't found this answer.
    The fact that you're creating a locked partition makes me wonder, because Truecrypt should be the one controlling the boot settings for your encrypted partitions...

    Also, if anyone has ever used Deep Freeze before... is it possible to freeze your OS partition while your swap/page files are on a separate partition?
    I know Truecrypt allows you to load system fav partitions (IE swap) with the OS boot partition.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hmmmm,

    #1: I have no idea because I don't use Truecrypt. In theory it should work, as DeepFreeze is just imaging/mirroring, and doesn't care what the actual data are. Truecrypt should kick in later...............but I don't know it

    #2: Yes, well, if they are on the same drive at least. I seem to recall that it also works on separate drives, but can't guarantee that these days. Unless, of course, both drives are frozen?

    #3 I have no idea how this stuff works with solid state drives.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    35
    Okay... I have slightly different Qs about Deep Freeze itself (haven't tried the program yet)...

    #1) When I start with a fresh computer, and I set my OS partition as 50GB, can I create a D: partition as 50GB (left un-formatted), or does it need to be NTFS formatted? It neither are the case, will the program auto grab 50GB from unused HDD space instead?
    The reason I'm asking this, is because I want to keep my partitions as:
    p1 = swap/page partition
    p2 = blank temp partition (used for daily use by deep freeze)
    p3 = primary frozen OS ... (to maintain maximum performance of #2).
    p4 = Data partition

    #2) Will Deep Freeze run correctly, with the page/swap files as a different partition, only keeping the main OS (w/o swap) frozen... and running the temp partition off the same swap partition?

    #3) I think there's a defrag option within the Deep Freeze program Does it defrag the frozen C: partition, or the temp partition (I'm assuming C)?

    Hmm... I might have a few more Qs, if I can't find the answers on the web or on this forum.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by dredogol; January 1st, 2012 at 08:15 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Deepfreeze Vulnerability?
    By dialupdaemon in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: June 27th, 2005, 02:43 AM
  2. Tcp/ip
    By gore in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: December 29th, 2003, 07:01 AM
  3. Operating System Selection
    By TheFiend in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: June 14th, 2003, 11:08 PM
  4. DeepFreeze for Win95/98/2000
    By SDK in forum Product / Book / Training / Conference Reviews
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: February 22nd, 2002, 09:42 PM
  5. DeepFreeze: Here is a Challenge!
    By DISLEX in forum Security Archives
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: December 18th, 2001, 06:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides