Windows 7 memory leak
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Windows 7 memory leak

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683

    Windows 7 memory leak

    Hi guys,

    Running win7 x64 and this past week I have left my computer idle for some hours and started noticing some degraded computer performance when i wanted to use it for basic office stuff to gaming.

    What I have found is that I am sitting at 3.5/4 GB of ram. So my first check was to see if anything was eating it and there wasn't. The list just didn't add up (yes i checked on all users).

    I did some research and find sites that tell you to disable prefetch, superfetch etc but didn't make a difference.




    On boot it sits around 1.2 and slowly creeps up, there is no noticable program I am using that is causing it so I am not actually sure now.

    On closer inspection I have seen the nonpaged memory jump from 50 to 2200 (as I write this post) , I have tried to search for this but cant find any site that tells me exactly why its sky rocketing.

    There is the argument of windows caching stuff but if I had to open up a large app , it would have very poor performance right now. It seems like windows is not letting go of "cached" memory when i want to utilize it.

    I have only recently had this problem, never before or did I not notice it, highly doubt that. I have also changed my pagefile size from customer 1.5 X to windows managed. All apps updated.

    Anyone with any experience in this , please let me know.

    Thanks.

    EDIT:


    Last edited by Cider; February 19th, 2012 at 06:56 PM.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  2. #2
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    Well, if it's only just started then I think we need to look at stuff that gets updated regularly.

    1. Security software
    2. Browsers
    3. MS Windows.............and we have just had a patch Tuesday?

    Please get a copy of Belarc Advisor and let it update and run. Scroll down the bottom and look for any updates with a red "X" against them. Uninstall and reinstall these patches.

    If it isn't a screwed up Windows update then try closing all browser windows and tabs and see if the same thing happens.

    Is your processor showing a high level of activity during the idle period? I use System Monitor II by Igogo to look at this.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  3. #3
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Hi Nihil,

    Already check with BA and there is nothing ...

    CPU is not spiking at all, in fact its not doing much so its all the RAM.

    I will close down my browsers and Skype and let it run overnight.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  4. #4
    HYBR|D
    Guest
    What version of Skype we using Cider?

  5. #5
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Closed everything except dropbox and its idling at 2.5 GB. Nonpaged is around 1600.

    @ Hybrid, skype version is 5.8.0.154.

    Now what is funny about skype is that on "check for updates" whilst on 5.5 it didn't have any. PSI then told me about the 5.8 update which I had to log into their site for.

    This was after the fact though.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  6. #6
    HYBR|D
    Guest
    Skype is the only real suggestion i have.

    The last few version's have been having issue's. It's pretty well documented on a ton of different web forums.

    Personally i have to restart my laptop after 2 1/2 hrs when i have skype in use or idling "Quietly" in the background.

    also Chrome does tend to slowly munch memory after long periods of time. Although Skype would/is the main culprit.

  7. #7
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    Thanks Hybrid.

    Do you have any idea how I can check why the Nonpaged is escalating like this? Surely there must be a way to check what file is causing it?
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  8. #8
    Only african to own a PC! Cider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    1,683
    SOLVED: Leak on the Nvidia beta drivers.

    http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?s...c=222342&st=20

    Note to self (don't install beta drivers on your only box).

    ATI ftw, death to NVIDIA.
    The world is a dangerous place to live; not because of the people who are evil, but because of the people who don't do anything about it.
    Albert Einstein

  9. #9
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,192
    Hi Cider,

    Glad you found it, but for future reference this might help:

    http://kb.parallels.com/en/1675

    This is really for sorting out Windows memory error messages, but it should provide the information as to what is causing the increased usage and retention of non-paged memory.

    Beta drivers? beta drivers!!!! shame on you sir, you only put beta drivers on test rigs or if you already have a driver problem and can't make matters much worse

    I do have some NVIDIA boards, but I always let their software check for updates. No problems so far.

    I disable betas and video card software in File Hippo. You may see something that looks OK but won't work for your particular board......... I once wasted a couple of hours learning that lesson

    TBH, I generally buy AMD/ATI on price/performance and because I have always found that NVIDIA stuff tends to run rather hot. This is an HD 5670 and is at 35C after several hours, and the HD 6770 is at 41C. Ambient temp is 24C.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    262
    Quote Originally Posted by Cider View Post
    SOLVED: Leak on the Nvidia beta drivers.

    http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?s...c=222342&st=20

    Note to self (don't install beta drivers on your only box).

    ATI ftw, death to NVIDIA.
    After 3dLabs stopped making their Wildcat boards, I tried ATI. They really sucked because of bad Catalyst drivers, especially OpenGL drivers. They released new bug fix drivers every month and just moved the bugs around.

    I switched to nVidia Quadro boards and have not had a single problem. Their drivers have been rock solid for me. I even have Quadro NVS chips in my notebooks.

    Back then I had 22" Viewsonic VP2290b (3840x2400) displays to feed and there weren't many choices for video cards.

Similar Threads

  1. Copying updates
    By Cider in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: March 21st, 2006, 08:30 PM
  2. suse is crap on finding cdrom
    By rajunpl in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: July 1st, 2004, 07:30 AM
  3. Operating System Selection
    By TheFiend in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: June 14th, 2003, 11:08 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: July 15th, 2002, 03:46 AM
  5. OS History and other info.
    By Remote_Access_ in forum Security Archives
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: January 12th, 2002, 02:02 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides