Who is blocking the remote desktop connection?
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Who is blocking the remote desktop connection?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    149

    Who is blocking the remote desktop connection?

    So I have a PC in my office and I used to remotely connect to it from home but then I installed the fsecure on the PC and I was not able to connect anymore. I uninstalled the fsecure completely and even restarted the PC but still I cannot connect remotely!
    I was wondering if there is any tool to allow me trace which process is blocking the remote access to my PC.
    Please help. Thank you
    Last edited by boyboy400; March 24th, 2012 at 12:25 AM.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Wazz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    288
    Try the uninstall tool....Also, check your Router to see if it used uPNP to set a rule without you knowing on setup.....


    http://webtrickz.com/f-secure-uninst...nremoval-tool/
    "It is a shame that stupidity is not painful" - Anton LaVey

  3. #3
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi there BB,

    Bin so please forgive............ which machine was FSecure installed on?
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    149
    Quote Originally Posted by nihil View Post
    Bin so please forgive............ which machine was FSecure installed on?
    hahaha it was installed on the PC in my office and now is not anymore. I used to connect from my laptop at home to that PC.

    PS. Fact: First, I tried to allow the remote desktop connection in Fsecure settings and I did (maybe in a wrong way!) but it was not successful then decided to uninstall it completely.
    Fact2: I just noticed something else has happened at the same time! I had McAfee already installed on the Win 7 system on the PC. Apparently it has a trial period of one year or something which is gone so when I went back to check the McAfee settings I was not able to do that. It asked me to upgrade which obviously I declined and then decided to uninstall McAfee as well and did so and restarted the PC. Still, I cannot connect remotely :| .
    The error I get now is " This computer can't connect to the remote computer. Try connecting again. If the problem continues, contact the owner of the remote computer or your network administrator."
    The error I used to get before these uninstallations was something like the remote computer does not allow remote connections and contact the administrator or something!!!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member IcSilk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    296
    What remote client are you using? mswin factory default, virtual, some other 3rd party ware?
    "In most gardens they make the beds too soft - so that the flowers are always asleep" - Tiger Lily

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    149
    Quote Originally Posted by IcSilk View Post
    What remote client are you using? mswin factory default, virtual, some other 3rd party ware?
    Sorry I don't know! The PC has Win7 installed on and I have Vista at home so just go to the start menu, type "remote" and click on "remote desktop connection" that's all what I do

  7. #7
    Senior Member IcSilk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    296
    I don't mess with RDC, but my first thought is that F-secure left some sort of artifact after uninstall. this may or may not be the issue, this may or may not be even close to the issue.

    This may not be, and probably isn't a physical artifact left behind like a vagabond config file; but rather a security setting that wasn't reverted after the f-secure uninstall like a closed communication port or blocking RDP or anything. You probably have already done this, but initially I'd check to make sure all the RDC settings are still in place.

    Then make sure you've completely removed all remnants of f-secure (and McAfee) from the remote system. Those would be my first two steps.

    You can also, then use Process Explorer to filter through any unrecognized or rogue processes doing their deeds on the system. ProcEx is free, straightforward and well made.
    Last edited by IcSilk; March 30th, 2012 at 09:03 PM.
    "In most gardens they make the beds too soft - so that the flowers are always asleep" - Tiger Lily

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3
    you have go the my computer properties and click the remote desktop setting is off this condition is remote is not access on another computer system.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Opus00's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    144
    Huh?
    There are two rules for success in life:
    Rule 1: Don't tell people everything you know.

  10. #10
    Junior Member Kaseywills's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    65 Netherpark Crescent,Staverton,Northamptonshire
    Posts
    1
    Have you checked Remote Desktop port, it might be blocked by a firewall. You can easily change the setting, Go to Control Panel, clicking Security, and then clicking Windows Firewall and Allow a program through Windows Firewall. Administrator permission required If you are prompted for an administrator password or confirmation, type the password or provide confirmation. Select the Remote Desktop check box.

    or

    Remote connections might not be enabled on the remote computer.
    Last edited by Kaseywills; April 27th, 2013 at 12:53 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Windows Error Messages
    By cheyenne1212 in forum Miscellaneous Security Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: February 1st, 2012, 02:51 PM
  2. Windows Remote Desktop and forensic evidence
    By anbanphd in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: May 8th, 2008, 09:48 AM
  3. Network Security made easy?
    By Tiger Shark in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: January 14th, 2005, 08:47 PM
  4. Hijackthislog What files to delete?
    By dantesheaven in forum Spyware / Adware
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: October 24th, 2004, 02:49 PM
  5. Windows XP Tips
    By Nokia in forum Tips and Tricks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 18th, 2004, 05:24 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •