Pwl file for win3.11 Workgroup HELP!
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Pwl file for win3.11 Workgroup HELP!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    2

    Pwl file for win3.11 Workgroup HELP!

    Hi,
    I need urgent help with pwl file for an old computer that controls electrical pulse in our lab. I tried to copy the pwl file from windows directory and manage to work but the problem is that the device connected to the computer needs the same password to run. When I put the pwl file back it logged me off that device and I can not connect with it again. I have the pwl file with me and I am in desperate need of help to open that file and get the password for admin loggin. Even if I reinstall the windows I still need that password. Can anyone help please
    Thanks

  2. #2
    THE Bastard Sys***** dinowuff's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Third planet from the Sun
    Posts
    1,247
    Get into the original 3.11 box and go to the C:\windows\system directory

    Open the PROGRAM.INI file

    Remove any Restrictions Commands from the [Resctrictions] Section, ie:

    [Restrictions]
    NoSaveSettings=1 (text) <- remove
    EditLevel=4 (text) <- remove

    This will tell windows not to prompt for passwords
    09:F9:11:02:9D:74:E3:5B8:41:56:C5:63:56:88:C0

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks dinowuff
    I will try that and I will let you know. You think if I did that the software of the device will not ask for password to activate the hardware?
    Thank you again

  4. #4
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,178
    Hi there whiteshadow

    You said:

    Even if I reinstall the windows I still need that password.
    Does that mean that you have already re-installed Windows 3.11? because if you have, then you have reset the password in Windows.

    I think that the issue is with the equipment itself, as it seems to store a password or recognition code?

    You need to re-set up the equipment with the computer so that it's password is synchronised?

    Basically, your lab equipment is no longer recognising the computer as its controller, and this recognition code is within the equipment, rather than the computer.

    I might be able to help more if I knew the make and model number of the laboratory equipment, but it is 20 years since I worked with laboratory equipment control ..............I guess that was Windows 3.11 for workgroups?

    .
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

Similar Threads

  1. Basic Hosts File Banner Ad-Blocking Tutorial
    By xierox in forum Other Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 5th, 2005, 04:34 AM
  2. The history of the Mac line of Operating systems
    By gore in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 7th, 2004, 07:02 AM
  3. executable files
    By rcgreen in forum The Security Tutorials Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: October 4th, 2002, 05:07 AM
  4. Black Wolf's Guide to Memory Resident Viruses.
    By ahmedmamuda in forum AntiVirus Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 20th, 2002, 01:03 AM
  5. Camouflage v1.2.1 The programme
    By Gbin@ryR in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: February 28th, 2002, 04:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides