Google hijacking IPs?
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Google hijacking IPs?

  1. #1
    Junior Member nukecad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    UK Lake District
    Posts
    7

    Google hijacking IPs?

    Hi everyone,

    I have a problem on a forum where I am a super-moderator and cant find any other reports of it here or elswere online.

    What is happening is that in the last few months every new member who registers is shown as having an IP from googles range, 74.125.181.17 is the most common but other 74.125.###.## show up as well. These are all from google HQ in Mountain View, California.

    It has now got to the stage where everybody who logs in to the forum is shown as having a google IP from this range.
    I myself am shown on the forum at the moment as having logged on from 74.125.181.17 but I know that I am actually on 194.66.222.74 (Whitehaven, Cumbria, UK).

    As we use the IP (as well as username and email) to check new registrations against stopforumspam.com then having google IPs for everyone who registers is defeating this check.

    Has anybody come across this happening on their website/forum and if so did you find out why it was happening and how to stop it.

    For info the forum is run on vBulletin and we have adsense and spam-o-matic running.
    I have supermod rights there not admin so will need to pass on any suggestions to the administrator who is also baffled as to why this has suddenly started happening.

    Thanks Nukecad

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    238

  3. #3
    Junior Member nukecad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    UK Lake District
    Posts
    7
    Thanks Steve,

    That was one of the first places I searched. I havent posted there yet as I was leaving that to the administrator, Hes the one with the account.
    I have also been searching the stopforumspam forum with no joy.

    I cant believe we are the only ones seeing this happening, it may be our mistake that somehow everyone visiting our forum is given a google proxy, but a unique mistake?

    nuke

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    238
    Maybe the datacenter where the server is located is causing the problem. All the traffic flows through their routers.

  5. #5
    Junior Member nukecad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    UK Lake District
    Posts
    7
    Thanks Steve,

    Your previous post prompted me to go back and have another search of the vBulletin forum using different search terms.
    I soon found this- http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...ighlight=proxy

    This is a vBulletin hack that is needed to pass on the real IP if it is being routed through a server.
    It needs to be re-installed every time you upgrade your vBulletin.

    It also seems that it can get switched off by pagespeed?

    I guess our Admin forgot about it, (easy to do with patches you install once), I have pointed it out to him and hopefully everything will soon be back to normal.

    Thanks again for the prompt,

    Nuke.
    Last edited by nukecad; June 14th, 2013 at 01:26 PM.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    238
    Great. GLad you got it sorted.

Similar Threads

  1. Hijacking
    By dcarveror in forum Network Security Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: August 28th, 2006, 11:30 PM
  2. AIM hijacking
    By weazle fuzion in forum Web Security
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: November 18th, 2003, 08:07 AM
  3. hijacking IE6
    By phaza7 in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: October 31st, 2003, 04:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •