Isp throttling dsl services?
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Isp throttling dsl services?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Senior Member Boogymantroy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Memphis Tn
    Posts
    100

    Isp throttling dsl services?

    For a little anonymity I won't say which company I work for but I will say it is dsl based service. I have spent the morning working for a business customer trying to resolve slow surf issues. I changed ports in the central office. I swapped routers. I tried several different terminals with and without the others connected and I never surfed over 1meg on a 6 meg circuit. I had the dslam checked and the username verified for not being on a static ip or anything else that could slow them down. It wasn't until I swapped the username and password out for my personal one that I was able to surf at the right rate. I then put the customers info back in and the problem remained corrected. this isp offers dsl and their next generation service which is ptm vs atm. So my question, could/would there be the possibility that these older platform users are being throttled back in a bid to convince them to upgrade to the other service offered? The only characteristics that changed on the whole circuit with the username swap was that the ip address pulled was from a different bank.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    222
    Actual it could also be a older ip bank router they are going through. Or the router/switch needs replced.

    Tracert both accounts and check where the hang up is.
    Actually we had that here after they move the servers from N.J. to California. Found some routers/switches that were glitched.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Boogymantroy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Memphis Tn
    Posts
    100
    I received a company email last week stating the legacy ATM dsl services are being throttled. It's in an effort to persuade people to leave the older technology and move over to the new PTM service we provide. It details that there are ways that a person can have the throttle removed. Also if a person is pushed over to the other service and demands their old service back they can have it. This is only being done with residential customers who serve directly out of a central office. FTTN, FTTP, and other remote solutions are not being affected by this yet. I figure it would take too much time to go to each of them and set up throttles. At least for now....

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    222
    When you reboot the modem, the first thing it does is to get the new firmware which holds the limits. Some can be forced to reboot from the IP end thus enabling the new limits.
    Seen the forced reboot by cable and DSL companies.

Similar Threads

  1. Exchange 2010 - Throttling question
    By cross in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: August 27th, 2011, 12:37 AM
  2. Bandwidth throttling
    By Nelson in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 21st, 2006, 02:46 AM
  3. Virus Throttling - The war begins
    By thehorse13 in forum AntiVirus Discussions
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: December 9th, 2004, 05:18 PM
  4. Bandwith Throttling
    By ac1dsp3ctrum in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: July 29th, 2002, 07:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides