How did this get here????ntdev.corp.microsoft.com
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How did this get here????ntdev.corp.microsoft.com

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    3

    How did this get here????ntdev.corp.microsoft.com

    Hello,

    I discovered recently these entries in my W7SP1 registry and would like to know where are these entries coming from?
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\TCPIP\Parameters\
    Value name: DhcpDomain
    Value data: ntdev.corp.microsoft.com

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\TCPIP\Parameters\
    Value name: DhcpNameServer
    Value data: 172.31.79.142 172.31.79.144 157.54.104.75 157.54.14.162 157.54.80.10

    For your information, this is a standalone W7SP1 system without LAN.
    I do not use visual studio or other MS products that could change such entries.

    Cheers,
    Tweaky

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    250
    You type in a url, or click one, your computer hit the DhcpNameServer, finds the ip address to that url and then goes and gets it.

    I went Start, [typed in] cmd and hit the enter key.
    [typed in] ipconfig /all
    and hit enter. It looked this.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Owner>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Jims-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : D4-3D-7E-2C-1D-15
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2601:8:a140:2a:35e7:500b:7798:ef2a(Preferred)
    Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2601:8:a140:2a:c53c:b670:b773:4549(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::35e7:500b:7798:ef2a%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.127(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, August 27, 2013 3:34:50 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, August 28, 2013 3:34:50 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::cad7:19ff:fe0c:81d5%11
    192.168.1.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 248790398
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-37-41-83-D4-3D-7E-2C-1D-15
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 2601:8:a140:2a:cad7:19ff:fe0c:81d5
    192.168.1.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix Search List :
    hsd1.wa.comcast.net

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:3043:5b6:9d17:aa28(Preferred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3043:5b6:9d17:aa28%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.wa.comcast.net:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    My DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 2601:8:a140:2a:cad7:19ff:fe0c:81d5
    192.168.1.1

    Which match my settings in those regs .

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thank you Shay for the reply but this is not the answer I'm looking for.
    The DHCPDomain value is only be set if you are connected to a domain controller.
    So why is the vallue set if the computer is not even connected to a LAN network?
    Also look at the DNS servers(see the IP adresses), they are all from Microsoft.
    Why would and end user use DNS servers from Microsoft and why would an end user use a corporate software development DHCP server?

    This doesn't make sense at all

    I'm afraid nobody can answer this question because only Microsoft knows about it but so far they did not respond to this question.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    239
    The DHCPDomain value is only be set if you are connected to a domain controller.
    So why is the vallue set if the computer is not even connected to a LAN network?
    How did you determine this?

    I have the same two reg entries you mentioned in your first post on my XP machine and they match up to my Time Warrner account.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve R Jones View Post
    How did you determine this?

    I have the same two reg entries you mentioned in your first post on my XP machine and they match up to my Time Warrner account.
    You can check this link for an explanation:
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../cc962456.aspx
    You might have the same settings but I'm pretty sure your internet provider will not use these DNS servers and for sure not a corporate software development DHCP server.
    Do you have your own domain controller at home?
    So why would Microsoft want you to use a internal DHCP server?
    Maybe you work as a software engineer for Microsoft?

    You might be right that you have the same settings but it still doesn't sense to me.
    But anyway thank you for your reply.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    250
    For internal Win 7
    http://support.simpledns.com/KB/a72/...ns-server.aspx

    But if you use a router, or hit the internet like you did, and I have also, then the isp sets the DNS servers. But those can be overridden with the like of Free DNS or google DNS.
    https://developers.google.com/speed/public-dns/

    A better explaination.

    http://www.howtogeek.com/164981/how-...-web-browsing/

Similar Threads

  1. XP Pro Corp Key gen
    By RinkyDinky in forum AntiOnline's General Chit Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: April 28th, 2003, 09:27 PM
  2. PGP Corp 7.1 Flaw
    By Confucist in forum Cryptography, Steganography, etc.
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: November 7th, 2002, 06:19 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •