Thread: Apparently the Iphone isnt as secure as advertised, but how is it hacked?

Exclamation Apparently the Iphone isnt as secure as advertised, but how is it hacked?

When I bought my Iphone 4s about a year ago, I assumed and was told it was nearly 100% safe from hacking/spyware, etc. If you go to Apple's site, they will basically tell you the same most times. So will the civilian "experts" who post there. They say that even if it was somehow hacked, it only happens to a jailbroken one, and yu'd be able to find the Cydia app listed with your other apps in your phone. Then they tell you all you have to do is a factory reset, and viola! Its all good and safe again.... But again, some even say it cant be hacked.

I'm no expert, and I'm 99% sure that I understand less about smart phone technology or computers in general than most people here. But what I do know, is that my iphone 4s was hacked, and even after I did the factory reset, 'they' were still able to access my phone the very next day. I talked to 2 different apple techs over the phone last week about iphone security. I got the expected results: The first guy said he'd never heard of a smart phone being hacked, and the 2 guy I spoke with 2 days later told me that ANY smart phone can be hacked, including the iphone 4s, and all it takes is for the hacker to either send you an infected text, email or even a call! You may very well not see Cydia on your phone's app list either. After spending much time explaining the iphone issues I was/am having, I was sent to the apple store and quickly given a new phone. The issues I'm having are with a family member and his friends, who apparently are very technically savy when it comes to hacking. I'm not going to spend 20 paragraphs going into the hows and why's of why a family member is hacking my phone(and my computer), but if you want to better understand why something like this is happening, here's 2 links that explain it with complete accuracy: http://dictionary.refere