How to access home router.
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: How to access home router.

  1. #1
    Senior Member Zorolord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    116

    How to access home router.

    Hi Guys/Girls.

    I need to access a home router on Windows 8.1 - Unfortunately I am unable to see it I expect it's IP address to be x.x.x.z - I get this information from command prompt.

    Unfortunately when I attempt to access the router from Chrome or IE this doesn't work, error cannot locate address.

    So I've installed SuperScan and that only shows two devices the pc and my droid phone.

    So I would really appreaciate if someone can explain - how a router can be accessed via a fixed ip from Windows 8.1

    I haven't tried telnet, But I didn't want to try this - I will attempt to give this ago upon my return.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    US
    Posts
    76
    From the Windows 8.1 Start (Metro) screen, type cmd and press [Enter]. Type (or copy and paste) the following command:

    ipconfig/all|find/i "gateway"

    and press [Enter]. That Default Gateway IP Address you see should be your router's IP Address. Load Internet Explorer, type in that IP Address and press [Enter] and you should get your router's User name and Password pop-up window.
    Rad

  3. #3
    Senior Member Zorolord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    116
    I've tried your command but it failed, I did a basic ipconfig/all which provided the the gateway address - unfortunately when I type the address into IE - The internal address is 192.168.1.254 - However when I enter this address I receive this error.

    This page can’t be displayed



    •Make sure that the web address http://192.168.1.194 is correct.
    •Look for the page with your search engine.
    •Refresh the page in a few minutes.

    I am off to check the ISP's address for further information - it's a Newcall Router Technicolour TG582 P90.







    Fix connection problems

  4. #4
    Senior Member Zorolord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    116
    C:\Users\###IPCONFIG/ALL

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : #########
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : lan

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : #############
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter WiFi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Ralink RT5390R 802.11bgn Wi-Fi Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : ###########
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : #############(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.91(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 10 December 2014 20:26:25
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 12 December 2014 09:41:49
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 331122006
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : ##################

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : ###########
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.lan:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lan
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : #######################
    erred)


    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\###>PING 192.168.1.254

    Pinging 192.168.1.254 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.254: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=64

    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.254:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 1ms

    C:\Users\###

    So the device is pinging as it should

  5. #5
    Senior Member Zorolord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    116
    I've just used SuperScan and managed to scan the range 192.168.1.x and it's appear and then I selected the option to connect via web browser.

    This didn't work yesterday :/

    Thanks for your help

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    US
    Posts
    76
    Quote Originally Posted by Zorolord View Post

    I've tried your command but it failed,
    Try copying and pasting the command.

    If it still fails, post a screenshot.



    Quote Originally Posted by Zorolord View Post

    The internal address is 192.168.1.254

    However when I enter this address I receive this error.
    ...
    •Make sure that the web address http://192.168.1.194 is correct.
    Try http://192.168.1.254 instead of http://192.168.1.194
    Rad

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    250
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254

    seeing that try clicking this http://192.168.1.254

Similar Threads

  1. home router behaving crazy
    By unhappy in forum Network Security Discussions
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: June 3rd, 2006, 02:54 PM
  2. can't access my router
    By slinky2004 in forum Newbie Security Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 7th, 2005, 02:12 PM
  3. Remote Access to my home box?
    By Dr Toker in forum Microsoft Security Discussions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: March 18th, 2004, 07:34 PM
  4. Good router for home use?
    By dstevens1958 in forum Hardware
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: October 28th, 2003, 04:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •