Help with Aspire 5740-5255 laptop
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Help with Aspire 5740-5255 laptop

  1. #1
    AO's MMA Fanatic! Computernerd22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    779

    Help with Aspire 5740-5255 laptop

    Hello fellow members of AO. I have an Aspire 5740 laptop that is not loading into windows. It keeps rebooting into this continuous cycle at the BIOS screen (which is a Phoenix) I can boot into BIOS by pressing the F2 key and I can see the Hitachi hard drive etc... but it's not doing nothing.

    Prior to this, I had the Flash Player Update Virus (2 days ago) I boot it up now and this continuous loop at the BIOS screen where it acts like it wants to load but it does nothing.

    Any tips, tricks, ANYTHING you guys can recommend is greatly appreciated... Thanks, Mike

    -----------

    update thing I just got done trying;

    unplugging battery and power cord, and I hold the power button for 30 seconds tried each one separately, booting too, same issue.

    I reset the BIOS to the factory settings. Same issue.

    I reset the hard drive in the laptop same issue. Also, did the same with the ram. Booted it up same issue.

    I don't have any recovery disks or nothing like that came with the system....

    Again, all help is greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by Computernerd22; August 9th, 2014 at 06:49 PM. Reason: UPDATE

  2. #2

  3. #3
    @ΜĮЙǐЅŦГǻţΩЯ D0pp139an93r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    1,694
    Download the proper Windows ISO from DigitalRiver (or a torrent site if it's an older Windows) and simply run a system repair. Vista, 7, and 8 all have fancy diagnostics that can be run. In most cases I use the MSDaRT disks for this, but the normal Windows disks work as well.

    http://msft.digitalrivercontent.net/win/X17-24208.iso 2147483647 X17-24208.iso Windows 7 Home Premium x86 English
    http://msft.digitalrivercontent.net/win/X17-24209.iso 2147483647 X17-24209.iso Windows 7 Home Premium x64 English
    http://msft.digitalrivercontent.net/win/X17-24280.iso
    2147483647 X17-24280.iso Windows 7 Professional x86 English
    http://msft.digitalrivercontent.net/win/X17-24281.iso 2147483647 X17-24281.iso Windows 7 Professional x64 English
    http://msft.digitalrivercontent.net/win/X17-24394.iso
    2147483647 X17-24394.iso Windows 7 Ultimate x86 English
    http://msft.digitalrivercontent.net/win/X17-24395.iso 2147483647 X17-24395.iso Windows 7 Ultimate x64 English Win 7 SP1
    http://msft.digitalrivercontent.net/win/X17-58996.iso 2147483647 X17-58996.iso Windows 7 Home Premium x86 English
    http://msft.digitalrivercontent.net/win/X17-58997.iso 2147483647 X17-58997.iso Windows 7 Home Premium x64 English
    http://msft.digitalrivercontent.net/win/X17-59183.iso 2147483647 X17-59183.iso Windows 7 Professional x86 English
    http://msft.digitalrivercontent.net/win/X17-59186.iso 2147483647 X17-59186.iso Windows 7 Professional x64 English
    http://msft.digitalrivercontent.net/win/X17-59335.iso 2147483647 X17-59335.iso Windows 7 Professional N x86 English
    http://msft.digitalrivercontent.net/win/X17-59337.iso 2147483647 X17-59337.iso Windows 7 Professional N x64 English
    http://msft.digitalrivercontent.net/win/X17-59463.iso
    2147483647 X17-59463.iso Windows 7 Ultimate x86 English
    http://msft.digitalrivercontent.net/win/X17-59465.iso 2147483647 X17-59465.iso Windows 7 Ultimate x64 English
    Real security doesn't come with an installer.

  4. #4
    AO's MMA Fanatic! Computernerd22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    779
    UPDATE: After researching online "after I posted this thread", I found an article that said if you hit "alt + F10" at the ACER splash screen, it will run their e-recovery software. From here you can "restore OS and retain user data" or "completely restore system to factory defaults" I did this but got an error message saying WIM/SWM file does not exist and it both options don't work. I believe my hard drive is no good at this point. It wont even do a factory settings... Thanks for the replies

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    US
    Posts
    77
    The Ultimate Boot CD (UBCD) to CD. It has Hard Drive diagnostics (plus much more). Simply boot your computer from this CD and select the utility you want to run.

    Note: If you aren't sure who made the hard drive in your computer, use Seagate's Seatools as it will work with most any make of drive.

    The following instructions may prove helpful for burning the UBCD .iso file to disc: How can I write (burn) ISO files to CD or DVD?
    Rad

Similar Threads

  1. XO Laptop - The $200 Hacker Laptop!
    By wolfman1984 in forum Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: November 19th, 2007, 03:52 AM
  2. laptop
    By recon in forum Hardware
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: March 5th, 2005, 02:04 AM
  3. old laptop
    By Phonedog911 in forum Hardware
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: April 27th, 2004, 05:10 PM
  4. new laptop
    By xero7x in forum Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 7th, 2003, 07:35 PM
  5. help with old laptop
    By slick8790 in forum Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: October 25th, 2003, 09:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •