New AIm beta
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: New AIm beta

  1. #1

    New AIm beta

    I dont know about anyone else but what do u think of the new AIM beta, 4.7.something
    It has been crashing my computer like crazy, and i have a 400mhz with 256mb SDRAM, and AIM has NEVER crashed my whole computer by itself, i mean damn
    Share on Google+

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    170

    Arrow AIM beta = crap

    Maybe because it is a beta?

    Seriously, though, it is a known problem. I had the same thing.
    \"If you torture the data enough, it will confess.\" --Ronald Coase
    Share on Google+

  3. #3
    Well, The version I have and am using right now, is 4.7.2468 which is the final release, but now AIM wants me to upgrade to 4.7.2480 , Hmm i guess i'll try it.......
    Share on Google+

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    8

    Exclamation A.I.M. Gives away ur Ip

    When ever u direct connect A.I.M. gives ur Ip away, all a person has to do is direct connect use ms=dos type in netstat and it will display all active network connections, MTU size and so on. Somtimes u may have to send a file to that person but it is possible for someone to get ur IP# and DOs u while ur talking.
    Share on Google+

  5. #5
    Nah? REALLY!? dude are you a hacker or somethin?
    Share on Google+

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Yes
    Posts
    4,426
    When ever u direct connect A.I.M. gives ur Ip away, all a person has to do is direct connect use ms=dos type in netstat and it will display all active network connections, MTU size and so on.
    And you want to know something really silly??? There's even TOOLS in WINDOWS to do that for you!!!


    Somtimes u may have to send a file to that person but it is possible for someone to get ur IP# and DOs u while ur talking.
    Yeah, let them DoS my proxy...
    Share on Google+

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    170

    Arrow

    Just one more reason not to piss people off on the internet.

    (...if you didn't know you could get IPs with AIM)
    \"If you torture the data enough, it will confess.\" --Ronald Coase
    Share on Google+

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    9

    Arrow

    Ach, you actually USE AIM? Try out Trillian a bit. It is still in late beta (A new version is coming out Soon TM) It is small, free, has no ads and supports IRC/AIM/ICQ/MSN/Yahoo with multiple logins allowed on each. Well, see for yourself. I love it and would never go back to any of the standalone clients.
    Share on Google+

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    38
    Instant messaging sucks. Just my opinion. Big deal if they get my IP.
    Share on Google+

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    2
    Originally posted by Raditz
    ... now X is for Xerox
    no X is for X windows
    outside of a dog
    a book is mans best friend
    inside of a dog
    its too dark to read
    -groucho marx
    Share on Google+

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •