Ok so I recently received an email

<b>from:</b>
arlin albrecht <[email protected]>

<b>title of the email was:</b>
PayPal security measures

<b>Email header info:</b>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Received: from mc4-f5.hotmail.com ([65.54.190.141]) by mc4-s18.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.0.2195.6824); Wed, 14 Jul 2004 21:57:26 -0700
Received: from CPE0080c6eb36d1-CM014340009094.cpe.net.cable.rogers.com ([24.100.49.157]) by mc4-f5.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.0.2195.6824); Wed, 14 Jul 2004 21:56:52 -0700
X-Message-Info: JGTYoYF78jFD0zyHGf6fG9YI1Toa02cM
X-Mailer: The Bat! (v2.01)
Message-ID: <1778329114.20040715044911@>
Return-Path: [email protected]
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 15 Jul 2004 04:56:53.0546 (UTC) FILETIME=[259C68A0:01C46A28]

The rogers cable part and the email address had me suspicious from the get go.

<b>Now the part that through me was the email itself</b>

[QUOTEChanging your password is a security measure that will ensure that you are
the only person with access to the account.

Thanks for your patience as we work together to protect your account.

Sincerely,
The PayPal Team

----------------------------------------------------------------
PROTECT YOUR PASSWORD

NEVER give your password to anyone and ONLY log in at
https://www.paypal.com/. Protect yourself against fraudulent websites by
opening a new web browser (e.g. Internet Explorer or Netscape) and typing
in the PayPal URL every time you log in to your account.

----------------------------------------------------------------


Please do not reply to this e-mail. Mail sent to this address cannot be
answered. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and choose the
"Help" link in the header of any page.

PayPal Email ID PP######

Dear customer,

We recently noticed one or more attempts to log in to your PayPal account
from a foreign IP address:

40.173.51.8
32.43.128.233
145.250.215.155
59.32.21.171
159.15.25.183
157.182.65.73

If you recently accessed your account while traveling, the unusual log in
attempts may have been initiated by you. However, if you did not initiate
the log ins, please visit PayPal as soon as possible to change your
password:

https://www.paypal.com/us/cgi-bin/we...n-run=########[/QUOTE]

Now the first webaddress may say paypal.com but when you hover over it, it wants to go to the following ip address 24.239.139.3

A whois on this IP says that it is an earthlink ip address. Not sure who or what that is

now if you ping paypal or ebay (owner of paypal)
paypal is a 216.109.118.75 ip
ebay is a 66.135.192.87

either way I thought I would throw out this heads up, I am going to attempt to pursue this with paypal, we will see how easy this is to do. Or if I am a complete idiot and someone else has seen this let me know. Either way i am not visiting the links and I'm not going to change anything anytime soon. Any thoughts recommendations?