|
-
February 24th, 2004, 11:30 AM
#6
I still don't know what makes you think CWS is a virus:
Browser hijacker.. yes.. Parasite ..Yes.. Virus ??? as I said should be.. but it is commercial sponsered software.. or Unsolicited Commercial software.. Read here: http://www.doxdesk.com/parasite/CoolWebSearch.html
CoolWebSearch is a name given to a wide range of different browser hijackers. Though the code is very different between variants, they are all used to redirect users to coolwebsearch.com and other sites affiliated with its operators.
The script at this site can only detect one of the variants listed here, namely CoolWebSearch/DNSRelay.
And If you use registryProt from http://www.diamondcs.com.au/index.php?page=regprot
the ball is back in the users court..
Distribution
Suspected to be installed by pop-ups exploiting security holes in IE.
CWS is not something that I can infect your machine and therefore a friends.and so on..... you have the program installed when you visit certain websites and you ALLOW the program to install by clicking on the links.. funny that statement.. roll over is enough with some of these banners..
"Consumer technology now exceeds the average persons ability to comprehend how to use it..give up hope of them being able to understand how it works." - Me http://www.cybercrypt.co.nr
Posting Permissions
- You may not post new threads
- You may not post replies
- You may not post attachments
- You may not edit your posts
-
Forum Rules
|
|